Interview: Kali

Today we’re joined by Kali. Kali is a phenomenal artist who does 2D digital art and dabbles in animation. She’s influenced by a number of things and is quite passionate about her art, as you’ll see from her enthusiastic answers. It’s always fun to talk to passionate artists. Kali sent a bunch of interesting images to go with her interview and they demonstrate quite an amazing imagination. My thanks to her for taking the time to participate in this interview.

ApocalypseAlice
Apocalypse Alice

WORK

Please, tell us about your art.

I am a 2D digital artist and I’m currently at college learning animation. I draw in a very anime and cartoon influenced style and love things with lots of color! I see myself probably going into storyboarding or writing my own personal comics after graduating.

EyeSymbol
Eye Symbol
EyeSymbolCharacter
Eye Symbol Character

What inspires you?

Some of my biggest artistic influences would probably be the animation studio Laika. All their stop motion work is so inspired! Their attention to even the smallest details and their maturely themed stories reel me in every time. Another big influence is cartoons like Over the Garden Wall and Steven Universe, they are both just absolutely wonderful shows with great characters. I am heavily inspired by music, if I’m drawing I’m sure to have some music playing and I would love working in animated music videos someday. Artists that have really inspired my work include Akiakane the Japanese animator, illustrator and songwriter, her style of colouring is fantastic. The webcomic author Nozmo writes fantastic stories with a very original style and I also love the way the artist NotMusa on Tumblr does proportions.

For You
For You

What got you interested in your field?  Have you always wanted to be an artist?

I have always been in love with the idea of being an artist, but it wasn’t until I got older and started getting into webcomics, anime, and adult cartoons, that I really started to see myself actually striving to become one. I guess even when I was younger I was more interested in an adult style of storytelling. I guess I decided on animation because my mom says as a kid my eyes always used to light up any time I was watching an animated movie. Recently she told me that they still do.

Melanie
Melanie

Do you have any kind of special or unique signature, symbol, or feature you include in your work that you’d be willing to reveal?

I have this eye symbol I draw all the time, both on the corner of notes or on characters. I am probably going to try to incorporate it into a comic at some point.

Mikasa
Mikasa

What advice would you give young aspiring artists?

I would highly recommend copying styles that inspire you. A large deal of my skill and style I obtained by copying artists from Deviantart and Tumblr that I really enjoyed. After time you begin to pick and choose and develop different features of peoples styles until it becomes something your own.

pastelpink
Pastel Pink

ASEXUALITY

Where on the spectrum do you identify?

I am asexual aromantic.

silhouettesfinal
Silhouettes

Have you encountered any kind of ace prejudice or ignorance in your field?  If so, how do you handle it?

I haven’t had any prejudice in my field yet, everyone in my animation classes I have told were very understanding and one even had a friend who was also aro. I have faced some heteronormativity at home, though. The classic “you just need to meet the right person!” and my mom’s boyfriend keeps hinting about guys. I’ve learned to mainly ignore it and just go online or talk to friends for a bit. Just go feel the acceptance and chill because trying to explain myself has become a long circle of annoyance. I think some people might just never get it. I mean sex and romance is such a huge thing in society, how are you supposed to combat someones understanding of that in one afternoon?? Here’s hoping over time people will start to get the idea.

sketches
Sketches

What’s the most common misconception about asexuality that you’ve encountered?

Probably the idea that asexuals are all completely disinterested in sex. This misconception made it even harder for me to discover my ace identity because I have a libido but no real sexual or romantic attraction (which can be very confusing let me tell ya).

Also the misconception that all asexuals don’t understand sex. I have a very crude sense of humour, one of my all time favourite shows is South Park. So when I tell people I’m ace, they’re like ‘how can you be asexual? You make sex jokes all the time!’ and I’m like ‘yeah, sex is ridiculous why wouldn’t I want to laugh at it??’

textures
Textures

What advice would you give to any asexual individuals out there who might be struggling with their orientation?

A lot of the asexual community repeats the idea ‘labels are for you’ and I feel like this is something I still struggle with. I guess I spent so long assuming I was straight it’s hard to wrap my head around the idea that I am queer. Just know that no ones going to tell you you aren’t what you say you are. And if they do, don’t bother with them.

Also if you ever worry about finding love, it’s out there. I am eternally grateful to have found my two best friends. I love them more than I thought I could ever love anyone and they accept me in every way.

Till
Till

Finally, where can people find out more about your work?

I haven’t set up commissions yet, but I’m planning on doing so soon. In the meantime send me a message if you want anything done and I’ll see if I can deliver (ノ^ヮ^)ノ*:・゚✧

Also if you have any more questions you’d like to ask me, on asexuality or art or anything feel free to message me, I’m always up for making new friends online.

http://kalireyno.tumblr.com/
http://morbidassassin.deviantart.com/
https://twitter.com/MorbidAssassin
http://www.redbubble.com/people/kali-reyno
https://www.instagram.com/kalireyno/

Stevonnie
Stevonnie

Thank you, Kali, for participating in this interview and this project. It’s very much appreciated.

Leave a Reply

