Interview: Dolores

Today we’re joined by Dolores. Dolores is a wonderful visual artist who enjoys drawing characters. She dabbles in comics and is inspired by the everyday. Her characters have a kind of lively sparkle, as you’ll soon see. My thanks to her for taking the time to participate in this interview.

ghoul oc color
Ghoul OC

WORK

Please, tell us about your art.

I am a visual artist in terms of the digital and traditional variety. I make comics sometimes and I like drawing characters I like and events that happen in my life or even events that I soon hope will happen.

What inspires you?

I’m a huge fan of storytelling, so I like to think stories inspire me to draw. It’s mostly why I like to draw comics and why I’m studying to be an animator/graphic novelist. There’s something about this simple set of lines and colors that can make you…understand.

What got you interested in your field?  Have you always wanted to be an artist?

When I was 12 I started watching anime. Yes I went through that “weeb” phase (I’m still a bit in it) but during this time I found that I always really loved to draw and I loved seeing my improvements. It started as just a hobby and then it became a passion. I entered high school with my heart set on artist, and it’s making it a lot easier.

Do you have any kind of special or unique signature, symbol, or feature you include in your work that you’d be willing to reveal?

Sometimes I like to add symbols to my work. A single teddy bear or a mark on a t-shirt can have a certain story personal to me or the character I’m drawing. Other times I just think “ooh that’s pretty” and draw it.

What advice would you give young aspiring artists?

PRACTICE, PRACTICE, PRACTICE!!!!!!! NEVER GIVE UP. Art takes commitment and observation, so even if your art seems eh now, just keep looking and keep drawing. You’ll never be the best, but that doesn’t mean you shouldn’t stop trying.

myfuture
My Future

ASEXUALITY

Where on the spectrum do you identify?

Heteromantic Asexual

Have you encountered any kind of ace prejudice or ignorance in your field?  If so, how do you handle it?

When I came out to my cousins, they were confused and told me to be quiet since small children were also in the room and I was talking about sexuality. It was very frustrating since the “small children” soon ended up watching a PG14 show with way more suggestive content than what I was trying to say, but I ended up just shrugging my shoulders and deciding to educate them when they’re ready. Asexuality confused me at first too, so I can’t really blame them.

What’s the most common misconception about asexuality that you’ve encountered?

The idea that I don’t love anyone is common for me. I actually have a boyfriend and I love him with all my being. Asexuality doesn’t automatically mean aromatic. I wish more people understood that.

What advice would you give to any asexual individuals out there who might be struggling with their orientation?

You are normal. Don’t listen to anyone who is ignorant because they don’t define who you are. And just because you don’t feel that attraction, doesn’t mean you can’t find someone who won’t love and respect you. Being asexual does not mean you’re immune to love or anything akin to it.

Finally, where can people find out more about your work?

I have an art blog, thebrat-art.tumblr.com, and a website coming out soon with commission info and other pieces of art.

kyloren
Kyloren

Thank you, Dolores, for participating in this interview and this project. It’s very much appreciated.

Leave a Reply

