Interview: Jessica B.

Today we’re joined by Jessica B. Jessica is a wonderful artist who mostly does graphic design. She mostly does web and graphic design for marketing. Her background is in fine art and she applies it to her work now. My thanks to her for taking the time to participate in this interview.

Julia

WORK

Please, tell us about your art.

I’m a graphic design by trade but I’ve also done a lot of different fine arts for school and in my own time. I currently work in a small marketing agency doing graphic and web design.

What inspires you?

Other art and design inspires as well as challenges me. There’s so much amazing work out there.

What got you interested in your field?  Have you always wanted to be an artist?

I’ve always wanted to be an artist of some kind. Around 7th grade I was in a career preparation class and we had to research jobs in a field we were interested in. Out of all of the art jobs I found graphic design is the one that stuck. It was also what I felt I had the best chance making a living on.

Do you have any kind of special or unique signature, symbol, or feature you include in your work that you’d be willing to reveal?

Not really. As a graphic design working in marketing my name isn’t usually attached to my work. That and my professors always said the best kind of design is one who’s presence in the work goes unnoticed as the focus should be on the content with the design adding to it.

What advice would you give young aspiring artists?

I guess just keep working. Keep trying. It’s hard to be successful in art fields but it’s worth it. If this is what you want to do then pursue it. It may not work out but to me that’s better than wondering if you could have made it for the rest of your life.

SocialMavens

ASEXUALITY

Where on the spectrum do you identify?

I identify as Aro/Ace

Have you encountered any kind of ace prejudice or ignorance in your field?  If so, how do you handle it?

Not really. It doesn’t come up often. The only person I work with that I’ve spoken about my sexuality to is my co-worker who though unknowledgeable on the subject has very open to everything.

What’s the most common misconception about asexuality that you’ve encountered?

That we’re broken or will change our minds. Most of the people I know or associate with regularly don’t really do this or it doesn’t come up. It just makes it startling to me when it does.

What advice would you give to any asexual individuals out there who might be struggling with their orientation?

I don’t really know. I guess just that this is normal. I’m sorry you’re struggling, I know how hard it can be especially with the emphasis placed on sex and relationships as the be all and end all but you are valid. What you feel and experience is valid and there is nothing wrong with you.

Finally, where can people find out more about your work?

The website for the marketing agency I work with is one of the best examples of my recent work. I haven’t been updating any of my art accounts recently.
socialmavens.com

Thank you, Jessica, for participating in this interview and this project. It’s very much appreciated.

Leave a Reply

