Interview: Michael

Today we’re joined by Michael. Michael is a wonderful visual artist who specializes in digital art. He has a very colorful, cartoon-inspired style with some darker undercurrents. His work is fascinating to look at and he obviously enjoys what he does. My thanks to him for taking the time to participate in this interview.

Froot Loops
Froot Loops

WORK

Please, tell us about your art.

I’ve been drawing for as long as I could properly hold a crayon, and have only recently made the switch to digital art from traditional. My art style is kind of cartoony and colorful, probably because I watched stuff like Powerpuff Girls and Sailor Moon when I was a kid, and those works influenced my art greatly. (Also I’m kind of a sucker for overly colorful anime in general so that probably adds even more onto it lol)

I also do quite a bit of writing, most of it never makes it out of my hard drive onto the internet (or anywhere really), though.

What inspires you?

Various artists I find, most notably Kylee Henke and Zami070 are some of my favorites. Classical artists can be an inspiration for me as well, like Monet or Van Goh. Anything that catches my interest can be an inspiration to me, really!

What got you interested in your field?  Have you always wanted to be an artist?

I’ve always found art and writing to be therapeutic for me, which is good because I have several mental health issues. I’ve not wanted to be an actual artist until recently, which has helped me push myself to improve my art.

hipster trash lasoona
Hipster Trash Lasoona

Do you have any kind of special or unique signature, symbol, or feature you include in your work that you’d be willing to reveal?

Not, not really. Sometimes in my art I write character names next to them in cursive, and that’s about it.

What advice would you give young aspiring artists?

Do whatever you want to do. Do you want to draw cute chibi animals, and nothing but that? Go for it! Only want to draw fanart and write fanfiction? Totally chill! Want to draw hardcore guro or Beatrice from Over the Garden Wall smoking a huge blunt? Godspeed, kiddo!

hobo and glunkus
Hobo and Glunkus

ASEXUALITY

Where on the spectrum do you identify?

I’m gray-aromantic asexual.

Have you encountered any kind of ace prejudice or ignorance in your field?  If so, how do you handle it?

Not really, except that I get a lot of complaints that I don’t have “enough” asexual characters in my writing…I have a fair amount of asexual characters, so these complaints are kind of bizarre to me. I’ve stopped posting my writing on Tumblr because of this.

What’s the most common misconception about asexuality that you’ve encountered?

I encounter the stereotype that asexual people are the result of trauma far too often. I’m asexual because I’m asexual, and that’s that.

What advice would you give to any asexual individuals out there who might be struggling with their orientation?

I…don’t really have much advice. I’m not the kind of person who would really be good to go to for advice, because I’d likely tell you to punch your issue in the face and/or kill it and burn the body.

But for real, if you’re struggling, google stuff. There are tons of resources out there for asexual people!

Finally, where can people find out more about your work?

My Deviantart is storkscissors, my art Tumblr is storkciseux, my AO3 is lapisandsapphire/talkwirtytome, and I may or may not make a Facebook page for my works soon.

Basically, if you ever see the name “lapisandsapphire” or “storkscissors” on a social media site, that’s probably me! (I try to link lapisandsapphire with my writing, and storkscissors with my art.)

charlotte
Charlotte

Thank you, Michael, for participating in this interview and this project. It’s very much appreciated.

Leave a Reply

