Interview: Kaylee Cataldo-Perry

Today we’re joined by Kaylee Cataldo-Perry. Kaylee is a wonderful photographer. They are currently working on a fascinating project revolving around asexuality and are obviously incredibly passionate about it. The images they sent along are positively stunning and thought-provoking, demonstrating an incredible eye and an amazing amount of talent. My thanks to them for taking the time to participate in this interview.

Fragments1
Fragments 1

WORK

Please, tell us about your art.

Every image is entirely constructed out of glass, shot in the studio with a 4×5 camera. Some of the images are presented as diptychs and triptychs in multiple window mats and others are presented as one piece made up of multiple prints mounted together.

What inspires you?

My biggest inspiration is music, more specifically Philip Glass’s work. That is how I got the idea to start shooting glass. One night I was sitting on my bed listening to Etude no.6 trying to solve the creative decision problem of how to translate what I see in my mind into my work. At some point I thought, Glass, that’s it. I tried it out and it worked.

One of my other inspirations was my teacher who encouraged me to keep working.

Fragments2
Fragments 2

What got you interested in your field?  Have you always wanted to be an artist?

As a child I didn’t have many friends so I kept to myself and passed time by drawing. That’s where my general interest in art stemmed from and as I got older I started to explore more forms of art especially in high school; I took ceramics, 2D art, studio art and film photography.

No, I didn’t always think I was going to be an artist but I fell in love with photography in high school and decided to pursue it. I continued my studies and graduated from the New England School of Photography in 2015.

Do you have any kind of special or unique signature, symbol, or feature you include in your work that you’d be willing to reveal?

Eh, I don’t think so.

What advice would you give young aspiring artists?

I would tell them to never give up on an idea even when you’re frustrated and exhausted and it feels like it will never work, don’t give up. You are allowed to take breaks, if you do end up frustrated put that idea aside for a while and try something else and go back to the other one later. You have your entire life to create and you can’t do everything all at once. Creating Good Art Takes Time.

Fragments3
Fragments 3

ASEXUALITY

Where on the spectrum do you identify?

Aromantic Asexual.

Have you encountered any kind of ace prejudice or ignorance in your field?  If so, how do you handle it?

In the field of photography, no I don’t think I have. Not yet anyway. I have started a new project in relation to asexuality however I have one image so far and not too many people have seen it yet.

Anytime I do run into ignorance regarding asexuality I try my hardest to be patient and to educate others on the topic.

What’s the most common misconception about asexuality that you’ve encountered?

The most common misconception is that it isn’t real, that it doesn’t exist or that it is some sort of unidentified medical issue that can be treated with medication.

What advice would you give to any asexual individuals out there who might be struggling with their orientation?

Reach Out! There are many meet up groups for asexuals in MA, RI and CT. All you have to do is download the meet up app and make a profile. Also, there are many asexual blogs on Tumblr that you can follow some of them are open to questions or chatting. My blog being one of them:
https://www.tumblr.com/blog/cataldoperry-fineart

Don’t be afraid to seek help from other aces.

Finally, where can people find out more about your work?

If you would like to see more of my work you can visit my
Website: cataldoperry.com
Tumblr:  http://cataldoperry-fineart.tumblr.com/
Instagram: (cataldo_perry) https://www.instagram.com/cataldo_perry/

Tumblr is where I usually post the most ace related things.

Identity
Identity

Thank you, Kaylee, for participating in this interview and this project. It’s very much appreciated.

Leave a Reply

