Interview: Jess

Today we’re joined by Jess. Jess is an amazing fanartist who draws inspiration from a variety of sources. Their main inspiration comes from video games and movies, but they also draw images inspired by webcomics and music. They have a fascinating style and the images they sent for the interview are gorgeous. My thanks to them for taking the time to participate in this interview.

20160128_205209_HDR

WORK

Please, tell us about your art.

My art consists of mostly just fanart for video games, webcomics, movies, music, etc. My art often has decently thick and cartoonish. Just the way I enjoy to draw.

What inspires you?

A lot of things, really. Video games and movies are often my biggest inspiration, but sometimes music also inspires me. So when I have art block, that’s where I look.

What got you interested in your field?  Have you always wanted to be an artist?

I think it was my family who really inspired me to become an artist. Ever since I could hold a pencil, I’ve been drawing. I never really thought about it when I was young, but now that I’m older (yet still pretty young), I’m really considering taking art as a career. No matter tough it may be.

a79c13b8-5758-4f2f-a291-fee7c2e97a0a

Do you have any kind of special or unique signature, symbol, or feature you include in your work that you’d be willing to reveal?

Not particularly, other than my signature which is the small ‘qt’ with a heart and a spider hanging off it if that’s what you want me to talk about.

What advice would you give young aspiring artists?

Draw what makes you happy, Unless it’s hateful towards other people. Other than that, just draw what will make you happy. Don’t let others judge you for what you draw, or try an control what you draw, cause that’s not cool. People can be jerk wads sometimes and you just have to learn to ignore them.

That’s really all the advice I can give from my personal experience as being a young artist.

Irving
Irving

ASEXUALITY

Where on the spectrum do you identify?

Ace/Aroflux!

Have you encountered any kind of ace prejudice or ignorance in your field?  If so, how do you handle it?

Not really, not yet at least. I just hope I can keep this streak of staying away from negative things towards my sexual orientation in the future!

What’s the most common misconception about asexuality that you’ve encountered?

Probably one of them is that ‘we just haven’t found the right person yet’. Sorry, what? That’s just rude. Also one that peeves me off is thinking asexuals can’t feel love. An asexual can feel love, bro. Sexual orientation does not instantly equal your romantic orientation.

What advice would you give to any asexual individuals out there who might be struggling with their orientation?

Don’t rush yourself to try and find what you are. Don’t label yourself either, identify as whatever makes you feel comfortable, you can change what you call your orientation as much as you flipping want to. Just be yourself, and don’t let anyone push you down. You’re gr8 m8.

Finally, where can people find out more about your work?

The only place for now is my art blog, (at) questionable-tarantula, I post my art there, even if it isn’t super often. I suffer from art block a lot, so I try my best.

20160229_222652_HDR

Thank you, Jess, for participating in this interview and this project. It’s very much appreciated.

Leave a Reply

