Interview: Jessica

Today we’re joined by Jessica (who is better known as Master-Assassin-Den online). Jessica is a phenomenal visual artist who specializes in digital art. She is also a 3D animation student and has the most wonderful enthusiasm for animation, which shows in her interview. My thanks to her for taking the time to participate in this interview.

asks 2
Asks 2

WORK

Please, tell us about your art.

I do a lot of digital artwork and also do animations. The artwork I post on my Tumblr and DeviantArt are mostly personal work and are usually original character based work. They’re a variety of sketches, ranging from rough to refined, but I also do fully illustrated work, some of them I even animate or add special effects to when I have the time.

Being a 3D animation student, I also do 3D visual effects and animation. A little bit of 2D at times, I just don’t feel they are of posting quality to any of my blogs at this moment.

gwen
Gwen

What inspires you?

Boy, a variety of things. Mostly fantasy based stories, mythology, ancient cultures, fashion, video games of ranging genres as well, their concept art is incredibly inspiring. Artists such as Edgar Degas, Alphonse Mucha, JC Leyendecker.

My own original characters also inspire me as I do create their own worlds, their stories, their friendships and relations. Making their world into something believable is my main goal when creating them.

That’s a whole lot of stuff, but really I think the most important inspirations are my friends and their incredibly creative characters which they have so happily let me draw sometimes, and interact with my own characters. My imagination and creativity would be nothing but shambles and ruin without them.

laiton
Laiton

What got you interested in your field?  Have you always wanted to be an artist?

I’ve been drawing since I was a little kid, drawing cartoons that were on TV and endlessly trying to perfect them. I drew so much that my teachers would confiscate my crayons from my desk. I always drew because I thought it was fun and silly, so I never really took it seriously until 9th grade and got my first graphics tablet, a dinky little (CTE-450) bamboo fun tablet, where I discovered the world of digital art. I also got into animation the following year when I found out my high school had an animation class, which I kept learning on my own after class, my teacher even let me teach a few times because I actually knew more about the program then she did after only half a semester.

Vladimir
Vladimir

Do you have any kind of special or unique signature, symbol, or feature you include in your work that you’d be willing to reveal?

No, I don’t think I do have any of those. I just have my own way of doing things I guess and if there are then I usually don’t notice things until someone points it out.

What advice would you give young aspiring artists?

Don’t be afraid to make mistakes, draw what you love, and don’t let the number of notes or the quantity of followers get you down. They do not make the artist. What does is the fact that you go and create what you love and keep on doing it because you love doing it, that makes you an artist.

And the most important advice is practice, practice, PRACTICE! Even if it’s just a doodle a day, it still adds on to your drawing mileage.

Redgie
Redgie

ASEXUALITY

Where on the spectrum do you identify?

Aromantic, Friendships are the best relationships for me.

Have you encountered any kind of ace prejudice or ignorance in your field?  If so, how do you handle it?

No, not really. I do have one commissioner/now friend who was curious and honestly didn’t know there could be people like that and he was incredibly and understanding when I educated him on the subject.

Muertos
Muertos

What’s the most common misconception about asexuality that you’ve encountered?

I think that would be that we are just confused, innocent, or “do you think there could be something wrong with you?” and “You’ll change your mind when you meet the right boy/girl” “that’s sad that you can’t feel LOVE”. My favorite is when they think because you are asexual or that you aren’t sexually aroused by people or things in movies or comics etc. That you can’t enjoy them, hun I can like a nice pair of shoes without wanting to put them on.

It’s hurtful sometimes, but you can’t educate someone who’s not willing to understand or listen.

Selfie_Foggy
Selfie Foggy

What advice would you give to any asexual individuals out there who might be struggling with their orientation?

Don’t listen to anyone who talks you down about it. You are not broken, there is nothing wrong with you. It’s OK not to feel romantic or have any sexual feelings for someone. You are normal and you are fine just the way you are.

Finally, where can people find out more about your work?

You can find my artwork on my Personal blog at: http://master-assassin-den.tumblr.com/tagged/mydrawings

And my two art blogs featuring mostly Original character art: http://itsavampiremasquerade.tumblr.com/

http://demondomain.tumblr.com/

cave
Cave

Thank you, Jessica, for participating in this interview and this project. It’s very much appreciated.

Leave a Reply

