Interview: Amber Skyler

Today we’re joined by Amber Skyler. Amber’s a wonderfully talented and versatile artist. They play musical instruments, sing, write, and do some visual art. They’re incredibly passionate about photography and the images they capture are so beautiful. They are also a very skilled drawer, as you’ll soon see. My thanks to them for taking the time to participate in this interview.

20160228_140406

WORK

Please, tell us about your art.

The arts I practice the most are photography, drawing, writing and singing/playing instruments. I usually take landscapes photos but I do occasionally take photos of people performing everyday tasks. I draw mainly flowers and fauna and write science fiction with the occasional fan-fiction. I have performed in choirs and also in duets and solos, I use my voice and usually accompany it with a guitar or ukulele except when I might be backing someone else who is singing with drums or a bass clarinet.

What inspires you?

The emotions of the people around me. If I am near someone calm, I may draw or sing something calm. If someone is agitated or angry, I write an intense section of a story or sing a heavy song whereas if it is silent, I take the moment and snap a photo of my surroundings.

What got you interested in your field?  Have you always wanted to be an artist?

I haven’t always wanted to be an artist, I remember that I used to want to be a personal trainer but I soon dismissed that. Listening to music, seeing people sketch their surroundings and taking photographs and reading often good books has all gotten me interested in art, I have always wanted to climb to their skill level and surpass them and become the best in my field and never stop trying.

20160315_135622

Do you have any kind of special or unique signature, symbol, or feature you include in your work that you’d be willing to reveal?

Not really, however, I do like to keep the bold lines outlining my drawings present.

What advice would you give young aspiring artists?

If you want to be an artist, don’t give up that dream. Don’t ever doubt your abilities to create something great, even if people tell you otherwise.

20160228_150053

ASEXUALITY

Where on the spectrum do you identify?

I am an aromantic asexual, with the addition of being agender.

Have you encountered any kind of ace prejudice or ignorance in your field?  If so, how do you handle it?

I have had people tell me that since I am asexual and aromantic that I can’t write emotional songs but I usually just ignore them and prove them wrong.

What’s the most common misconception about asexuality that you’ve encountered?

When I first introduce myself to people and say that I am ace, they usually get confused and think that I mean that I can reproduce myself without another person.

What advice would you give to any asexual individuals out there who might be struggling with their orientation?

You are you. No one else can tell you who you are and you shouldn’t let anyone tell you otherwise. You are valid. You exist.

Finally, where can people find out more about your work?

I put some of my art work (photographs, drawings and stories) up on Wattpad (https://www.wattpad.com/user/AnotherGinger11), a site where you can read and write and publish stories for free. My photographs and drawings are in some of my books but I do have a book dedicated to them.

20160315_135655

Thank you, Amber, for participating in this interview and this project. It’s very much appreciated.

Leave a Reply

