Interview: Pilum Vane

Today we’re joined by Pilum Vane. Pilum is a wonderful digital artist who specializes in character design and illustration. Their work is incredibly bright and has a real sense of softness, giving it a dream-like quality, as you’ll soon see. My thanks to them for taking the time to participate in this interview.

Chrysanthemum Topaz
Chrysanthemum Topaz

WORK

Please, tell us about your art.

Aside from the art class requirements in school, I’ve been drawing and interested in creating art for about 3 years now. I mostly draw character design for/on pet sites, as well as smaller illustrations.

What inspires you?

Other artists (with my favs being c2oh, gawki, quislings and feverworm) have always played a large role on keeping me drawing. I also enjoy looking at scenery pictures, as well as photos of clothes/fashion.

What got you interested in your field?  Have you always wanted to be an artist?

I initially got interested in illustrating and designing through different pet sites’ customization features. As time went, I got more and more inclined to get better and find a style that I enjoyed.

me3
Me3

Do you have any kind of special or unique signature, symbol, or feature you include in your work that you’d be willing to reveal?

I often enjoy drawing illustrations with a softer feel to them, and love to give them more loose/relaxed, “floating” poses. In addition, since I grew to develop my art style through custom pet site art, I tend to leave backgrounds very simple or empty, to give much more emphasis on the figure.

What advice would you give young aspiring artists?

In addition to practice and persistence which are definitely important, I say don’t be afraid to explore. You shouldn’t be afraid to “throw your current art style out” and start over if you feel unsatisfied with it. Feel free to venture and try out different styles, and test out your medium in every way possible.

Micky
Micky

ASEXUALITY

Where on the spectrum do you identify?

I currently identify with the term autochorissexual (in addition to aromantic), but have and most probably will continue to question where on the asexual spectrum I lie.

Have you encountered any kind of ace prejudice or ignorance in your field?  If so, how do you handle it?

I’ve experienced replies such as “You just haven’t found the right person” or “Maybe you’ll change!” pretty often when I tell some of my peers that I’m aro-ace, and have even been ignored when I’ve declined advancements, telling them that I am, indeed, aro-ace.

In these cases, I usually try reiterating to them that I am not “interested” in the individual up front, and would not go about it in a roundabout way. If possible, I also try to explain the possible detriments to their statement.

What’s the most common misconception about asexuality that you’ve encountered?

Common misconceptions I’ve encountered usually include the idea that asexual individuals are physically unable to feel arousal or are unable to have sex at all, along with the idea that all asexuals are sex-repulsed or that asexuality and celibacy are the same thing.

What advice would you give to any asexual individuals out there who might be struggling with their orientation?

Feel free to explore your asexuality, and remember that the terms/labels given shouldn’t be boxing you. Don’t feel pressured to fall under one category, and know that we’re all still people.

Finally, where can people find out more about your work?

I’m most active over at pilumvane on Tumblr, but I sometimes post edit/pet-site based work at my pet-site Tumblr (at) officialfloweruser. I also post some sketches and looser work every now and then on my Twitter.

seafoam ad
Seafoam Ad

Thank you, Pilum, for participating in this interview and this project. It’s very much appreciated.

Leave a Reply

