Interview: Iulia

Today we’re joined by Iulia. Iulia is a phenomenal visual artist who does both drawing and painting. Her work shows a touch of surrealism and it draws the viewer in. As I was going through the images for the interview, I was struck by the really intriguing dream-like quality found in many of them. Iulia has an incredible grasp of colors and lines, which you’ll soon see. My thanks to her for taking the time to participate in this interview.

1

WORK

Please, tell us about your art.

All of my art is traditional art consisting of drawings, paintings or a mix of the two. I like drawing people the most (and by that I mean females haha), either normal looking or magical creatures. I have also started drawing backgrounds more, now I can’t even imagine drawing something without one. I can’t say that I necessarily have a style set in stone though considering my drawings don’t really have a pattern.

2

What inspires you?

Mainly music (like any other artist I guess), but there are also things from my everyday life that I take, add a magical twist, and then transform into drawings. I also like traveling by car, in the backseat, just me, alone, with my thoughts. I had so many ideas just from that.

3

What got you interested in your field?  Have you always wanted to be an artist?

When I was a kid, I didn’t really like drawing or crafting I wasn’t what you’d call a creative child not even close since I was into math and science. But I met a person whose drawings really inspired me to create. I remember that when I was in middle school, I wanted to be a fashion designer, I think it was my biggest dream. Now I don’t want that anymore, I don’t know what I want to become (maybe a comic book artist) but what I know is that I want to create.

4

Do you have any kind of special or unique signature, symbol, or feature you include in your work that you’d be willing to reveal?

No not really, though I draw a lot of daisies (since they’re so easy to draw) and they appear in many of my drawings.

What advice would you give young aspiring artists?

Well besides the obvious advice “practice a lot”, they should try to make as much original art as possible and believe in their ideas. Don’t be afraid to explore your creative minds (◡‿◡✿)

(I don’t know if I should give advice though since I’m just an amateur)

5

ASEXUALITY

Where on the spectrum do you identify?

Just a normal asexual. (I might be aromantic too I’m not sure yet)

Have you encountered any kind of ace prejudice or ignorance in your field?  If so, how do you handle it?

Not really because I don’t usually talk to people about this, because I don’t have a reason to. I only talk about my orientation with people I believe will understand me.

6

What’s the most common misconception about asexuality that you’ve encountered?

The well-known “you don’t know until you’ve tried”. Or most of the time people just don’t believe you and call you an attention seeker.

7

What advice would you give to any asexual individuals out there who might be struggling with their orientation?

It might help you to join the community that’s already building up on Tumblr and other social media just so you won’t feel like you’re alone. Let us spread our pure unsexualised love.

(。・ω・。)ノ♡

8

Finally, where can people find out more about your work?

This is my personal blog: http://becreativeblog.tumblr.com/

And this is my recently made art blog: http://daisies-salad.tumblr.com/

9

Thank you, Iulia, for participating in this interview and this project. It’s very much appreciated.

Leave a Reply

