Interview: Mel

Today we’re joined by Mel. Mel is a fantastic writer who writes a variety of things. She mostly writes fanfiction, but also writes a lot of original fiction. Aside from those, she also dabbles in songwriting and poetry. It’s very obvious that she’s incredibly passionate about the art of writing. My thanks to her for taking the time to participate in this interview.

WORK

Please, tell us about your art.

I’m a writer who mainly writes fanfiction, original fiction, and occasionally songs or poems. Writing is one of my main hobbies, and even though my anxiety can make it harder to start on a piece, it’s something I adore doing. I’m also a singer, but that doesn’t play as big a role in my life as being a writer does.

What inspires you?

I get inspired by a lot of things. Going to see a movie in theaters almost always gets me going with a brand new ideas or a brand new perspective on the old ones. Reading and watching shows in general also tends to gets me writing more fanfiction!

My main genre is fantasy (urban fantasy especially), so a lot of times when I’m reading or watching other fantasy it helps me fine-tune my own world—what I like, what I want to change, etc. For example, right now I’m rereading Harry Potter, and since my fantasy has a similar concept of magical beings living among humans (albeit a very different execution), it’s really useful for figuring out how the world works for my characters.

What got you interested in your field?  Have you always wanted to be an artist?

I’ve always been a big journaler, and I was writing fanfiction before I knew what it even was! The first “real” story I can remember writing was basically a Peter Pan ripoff that’s pretty laughable now, but it was an honest attempt back then. Over the years I’ve had various projects, ideas and characters running through my head. Some of them work, some of them don’t, and all of them are hard to get on paper/document!

Do you have any kind of special or unique signature, symbol, or feature you include in your work that you’d be willing to reveal?

Many of my stories tend to take place in one of the two cities I made up, Lilac and Maverick (both of which are somewhere in or near New England, where I grew up). I invented them partly to give myself total freedom over what’s in them, and partly so I don’t have to do any research on location! Lilac is fairly large and somewhat unwelcoming, particularly to anyone involved in magic, while Maverick is smaller, kinder, and easier to blend into, due in part to the many magic-users and non-humans living in it.

What advice would you give young aspiring artists?

Don’t worry too much about getting it right the first time. Having a rough draft in front of you, even if it’s so bad it makes you cringe, is better than having it stuck in your head, especially if you want to do something with it. Drafts can always be edited, sliced, diced, and polished til they shine like you want them to. Also, remember that if you never get around to actually using some of your ideas, that’s okay. The important thing is that they making you happy. And if you’re pretty sure you’ll never have any ideas as good as that one, you can A) remember that you’ll have many, many other ideas that are probably just as good as that one, and B), feel very smug because you know something awesome that nobody else will (probably) ever know.

Now if only I could just take my own advice…

ASEXUALITY

Where on the spectrum do you identify?

As ace as can be, and sex-averse. Romantically I’m arospec (really aroflux but not confident enough to use that term whenever I’m feeling more confused than usual), heteroalterous and bisensual. (I only ever want to be in a long-term, semi-romantic relationship with a guy, and I think girls and guys are really, really pretty and I just want to cuddle them a lot)

Have you encountered any kind of ace prejudice or ignorance in your field?  If so, how do you handle it?

Not that I can think of.

What’s the most common misconception about asexuality that you’ve encountered?

Well, going by my real life, that it doesn’t exist. So much so that no one even knows or uses the word.

What advice would you give to any asexual individuals out there who might be struggling with their orientation?

It’s okay to be different. You’re not broken, and you’re not alone. Figure out what labels fit you best if that’s what you want to do; move on if it’s not. Either way, celebrate who you are, right now, regardless of how you may change in the coming weeks, months, and years. You’re amazing just the way you are. 🙂

Finally, where can people find out more about your work?

My main Tumblr is alterouspotato if you have any questions. I also just started a sideblog called thewritermelodyjaikes, where I’ll be dumping whatever writing I actually manage to get done. I’m also on Fanfiction.net as MelodyJaikes, and hopefully I’ll be able to get an AO3 someday soon.

Thanks for reading, and thank you so much for the interview!

Thank you, Mel, for participating in this interview and this project. It’s very much appreciated.

Leave a Reply

