Interview: Charlie

Today we’re joined by Charlie. Charlie sent me the loveliest email and is a phenomenal art student. They’re working on building their portfolio and the images they sent along to with their interview shows an individual with a massive amount of talent. They do both fanart and photography. Charlie is definitely an artist with a very bright future. My thanks to them for taking the time to participate in this interview.

IMG_1712

WORK

Please, tell us about your art.

I’m currently an art student, but I also do some fan art and photography for fun as well,

What inspires you?

Oh that’s a hard one, I’d say probably the shows I watch, books I read, fantasy and mythos, and my friends crazy ideas that she gets me to draw for her.

What got you interested in your field?  Have you always wanted to be an artist?

I’ve always tried to draw I can never say I was particularly good at it though, however about 4 maybe 5 years ago I was introduced to the world of comics and manga, and I became enthralled by the idea of being some kind of illustrator.

IMG_1715

Do you have any kind of special or unique signature, symbol, or feature you include in your work that you’d be willing to reveal?

Hmm, well, I like to base my characters on certain themes or mythos depending on what the work is for. I’ve only recently started to explore the idea of symbolism in my art so I can’t say I’ve got any particular as of yet.

What advice would you give young aspiring artists?

Give it a try. And if it doesn’t look how you want try again. Ugh if I had listen to the advice people gave about practicing and actually getting on with it rather than sitting and staring at a blank page is was afraid to ruin I would probably have more skills under my belt by now!

In summary don’t fear failure, embrace it.

IMG_1716

ASEXUALITY

Where on the spectrum do you identify?

Hmm I’m still finding my footing I often teeter between gray and not so gray if you catch my drift. Though I can say for definite I’m pan-romantic.

Have you encountered any kind of ace prejudice or ignorance in your field?  If so, how do you handle it?

I get a lot of people often confused if I bring it up. I think there is a lot of misconception which is a shame. I’ve never really had any issues directly affecting me in terms of my art and my ambitions so much as I have with my social life.

As for how I deal with it? Well If they ask I will explain as simply as I can (you might know the pie/cake analogy) or if they straight up won’t believe me I don’t argue I find that to be easier, -though it does leave me feeling at meh ya know?

What’s the most common misconception about asexuality that you’ve encountered?

That it is synonymous with abstinence or celibacy. This often comes up, however I did once have a girl ask me if it meant I reproduced asexually (as in to clone myself to produce offspring) which I thought was fantastic. I now often use that to describe ace-ness to people who don’t understand it, for laughs!

What advice would you give to any asexual individuals out there who might be struggling with their orientation?

It’s going to be difficult and you’re gonna have people tell you all kinds of things. And you are going to question yourself, but remember sexuality can be a fluid and tricky thing and there may not be a perfect label for you and that’s okay.

In our ‘sex tape culture’ as I once heard it described it is really difficult to find a niche when sex seems to be all there is.

I can promise you this there is far more to life than sex and there is far more to love than sex.

Finally, where can people find out more about your work?

Well I’m not too big on the internet at current having only just been introduced to it as a place to post my art.

(@) cariquazae is my Tumblr it’s a tad barren at current but give it some time

Cariquazae my Deviantart of the same name is also suffering from the same issue but it will grow I’m sure

(If any of you would like to contact me I believe my asks are open!)

Pleasure to do this interview, best wishes and to all you out there good luck.

IMG_1717

Thank you, Charlie, for participating in this interview and this project. It’s very much appreciated.

Leave a Reply

