Interview: Bismuth

Today we’re joined by Bismuth, who also goes by Bis on the Internet. Bismuth is an awesome young artist who currently does a lot of drawing for fun, though she hopes to be a professional artist one day. Aside from drawing, she also enjoys working with clay. She’s got a wonderful passion and enthusiasm for her work, which clearly shows both in her work and in her answers. My thanks to her for taking the time to participate in this interview.

image1 (4)

WORK

Please, tell us about your art.

I’m currently a high school student who loves to draw, mostly for fun, but I hope to one day make a career out of it! I mostly work with colored pencils and copics, but I also like to use watercolors. I haven’t done digital art much, but I’m working on it and I hope to get better. I also sometimes like to make little things out of polymer clay!

What inspires you?

It’s different every time I draw to be honest. Most of the time I come up with general concepts (like ‘I want to draw a mermaid!’) Or other times I see a character with a design I really like and I want to draw them immediately. Another thing that inspires me is looking back at my old art and seeing how much I’ve improved over the years.

I also like watching speedpaints to see new techniques and then try them out for myself.

What got you interested in your field?  Have you always wanted to be an artist?

Actually, I didn’t want to be an artist until around sixth grade. Up until that point, I wanted to be a geologist. But then, like a whole lot of middle schoolers, I had a major weeaboo phase. I wanted to draw the characters from my favorite anime, so I started learning how to draw!

Although I grew out of that phase a little, I kept on drawing.

image1 (5)

Do you have any kind of special or unique signature, symbol, or feature you include in your work that you’d be willing to reveal?

I don’t know if there’s anything about my style that would be considered distinctive, but I love to work with bright colors! I started coloring with colored pencils, which pretty much only had bright colors, so they’re still my favorites to work with today.

What advice would you give young aspiring artists?

Draw as much as you can. It doesn’t matter what, it doesn’t matter if you think it sucks.

Everything that you draw makes you that much better.

Use references! They can help you learn anatomy a lot quicker. Just don’t make the mistake of copying another artist’s work and trying to pass it off as your own.

Also, save everything you draw. I threw away a lot of picture from my early drawing days, and I regret it so much.

image2 (1)

ASEXUALITY

Where on the spectrum do you identify?

I’ve identified as aromantic-asexual for a couple of years! (Although I might be hovering towards gray-aro)

Have you encountered any kind of ace prejudice or ignorance in your field?  If so, how do you handle it?

Not really! The most common problem I have is just people don’t know what the word means. When I explain it, for the most part, they are accepting.

What’s the most common misconception about asexuality that you’ve encountered?

I haven’t run into a whole lot of these, but the most common one is that I just haven’t found the right person yet, hormones haven’t kicked in yet, or I’m lying to myself.

What advice would you give to any asexual individuals out there who might be struggling with their orientation?

Don’t worry about it! It’s okay to be questioning for any amount of time, even when you think everyone else has it all figured out.

And if you think that being asexual is the end of the world, and that you’ll never find love, don’t stress. There’s way more to life than sex, and there’s so much love out there that doesn’t involve sex.

Finally, where can people find out more about your work?

I’m here on Tumblr as crystallinebismuth and Instagram as the same name!

image3

Thank you, Bismuth, for participating in this interview and this project. It’s very much appreciated.

Leave a Reply

