Interview: Jill

Today we’re joined by Jill. Jill is a phenomenal amateur photographer who has some absolutely stunning work. Her photography demonstrates a keen eye and a love for the art form. While she favors nature and portraits, Jill is versatile when it comes to subject matter. She has a great enthusiasm as you’ll soon see. My thanks to her for taking the time to participate in this interview.

Aceofhearts

WORK

Please, tell us about your art.

Well, I’m an amateur photographer! I got my first DSLR camera about a year ago and I’ve been doing photography as a hobby for 2 years.  My preferred subject matter is usually nature, portraits, or a combination of the two! I love flowers in particular, just ‘cuz there’s something really delicate about them that really speaks to me.

What inspires you?

Without going too far into detail, memories and time really inspire me! I love being able to capture moments in time through my prospective and preserve them forever, even when I forget those moments eventually (I have a really bad memory, haha).

What got you interested in your field?  Have you always wanted to be an artist?

I used to go for walks around my town a lot as a kid, and seeing sunsets and flowers and other “fleeting” things made me really sad for some reason. When I got my first camera, I finally figured out that I was sad because I couldn’t remember these moments forever; and that got me really interested in photography.

I’ve always wanted to be an artist, but not a photographer; I tried drawing, painting, dancing, the whole nine yards before I got to photography.

Do you have any kind of special or unique signature, symbol, or feature you include in your work that you’d be willing to reveal?

No, not really! If anything, I take a lot of pictures of flowers, I guess.

What advice would you give young aspiring artists?

Just go for it! If you think you won’t be good at something, do it anyways! Nobody starts out great. But if you’re really passionate about something, that’s something you can’t just learn; but you can learn to be really good at whatever field you love. You know? Just go for it!

loli4

ASEXUALITY

Where on the spectrum do you identify?

I identify as asexual, panromantic, and semi-sex repulsed.

Have you encountered any kind of ace prejudice or ignorance in your field?  If so, how do you handle it?

Not necessarily in my field, since I’m only an amateur and I don’t interact with other photographers all that often. But in general, a lot of people are ignorant to asexuality and don’t respect my boundaries, which really upsets me. Usually I try to ignore it or educate people if possible.

What’s the most common misconception about asexuality that you’ve encountered?

I’ve found that a lot of people are under the impression that asexuality is a new thing that only exists on Tumblr, and is therefore “fake” (“how could you live without sex?!”). It can be pretty disheartening at times.

What advice would you give to any asexual individuals out there who might be struggling with their orientation?

Don’t change yourself for anyone. If someone isn’t comfortable with your asexuality, you don’t have to deal with those people. Don’t stay around people who don’t care enough about you to understand you, y’know? And don’t feel like you’re broken or weird. You’re valid. And cool as heck.

Finally, where can people find out more about your work?

I have a Tumblr! My URL is http://memoriesofaforgottenplace.tumblr.com/

I also have a Deviantart under Jillipenny, but most of my work is posted on my Tumblr while only some of it is on Deviantart.

rose

Thank you, Jill, for participating in this interview and this project. It’s very much appreciated.

Leave a Reply

