Interview: Gobetti

Today we’re joined by Gobetti. Gobetti is a fantastic writer and visual artist. She loves both forms of art equally and is dedicated to both. She draws a lot of inspiration from fandoms and obviously loves art. Working with both digital and traditional media, her work shows a beautiful attention to detail as you’ll soon see. My thanks to her for taking the time to participate in this interview.

01 (2)

WORK

Please, tell us about your art.

I write and draw, both traditionally and digitally! I’m taking drawing classes at the moment, and though I have very little time to practice, I love drawing and writing equally.

What inspires you?

This might sound very fangirl-y, but the fandoms I’m part of inspire me, and above all, romance inspires me – the cuter, sappier and sugary, the better. I love reading fanfics and seeing all the types of fanart of every fandom I participate in, because reading and seeing other people’s ideas and talking to mutual fans about those ideas inspire me to work and create my own things.

02 (2)

What got you interested in your field?  Have you always wanted to be an artist?

Writing: I began reading fanfics when I was 12 I think – browsing Fanfiction.net and reading every single fic that existed for my current fandoms was my favorite pastime. Back then I used to think “man, I wish there was a story about x”, or “dang, I wish y story was written z way, or got a different ending,” and from there I thought “wait, I should write this!” and then I went and did. My first fanfic was written in 2007, I think? It was posted on Fanfiction.net, naturally, and it was a short, very angsty and bittersweet Danny Phantom fanfic that I wrote based on an instrumental song called “My Most Beautiful Smile”. I got SO MANY good reviews, even though my English had plenty of flaws, and that made me so happy I never stopped writing since. if people didn’t take the time to comment on my fic I would’ve never continued writing, and I’m forever grateful to all those 20-something people that I brought to tears back in 2007. I’m sorry, but at the same time I’m not. :’) And thank you.

Drawing: I’ve always drawn, since I was very little. My uncle used to do oil paintings, and he gave us blocks upon blocks of blank paper for me, my sister and my cousin to draw on, and boy did we draw. My parents always encouraged us, and even when one of my teachers called my mom in school to complain about how I doodled all over the margins of my notebooks, my mom just shrugged it off. She told me to make sure to draw just on the margins, and if I did so, then the teacher had no real reason to complain. I wanted to write my own comic when I was little, but nowadays I wish I could work in something related to game design.

04

Do you have any kind of special or unique signature, symbol, or feature you include in your work that you’d be willing to reveal?

Not really! My style is a bit inconsistent since I’m still trying to figure it out, which means I don’t have many trademarks yet 🙂

What advice would you give young aspiring artists?

Writing: read. Read a lot. Then read more. And then, when you write, read what you wrote. Read it in your head to see if it sounds OK. Read it out loud if you have to – the key is remembering how a narrator talks like, and make sure your own writing sounds cohesive and well-paused and all nice and flowy like that. Obviously it doesn’t have to be identical to how narrators talk because everyone has their own writing styles, and that’s more than ok! Just make sure that grammatically everything is looking and sounding good and dandy. And then when you finish reading it, read it again. And then once more, just to make sure. if you have someone to beta for you, even better, because that way they can explain to you why something that you wrote was OK or why it wasn’t, and from there you learn a little more every time.

Drawing: never give up! Draw every day! Wherever and whenever! Even if you don’t feel like it and everything you do sucks that day! Draw, draw, draw! And don’t be discouraged that you’re not yet where you wish you were, because you’ll eventually get there; everyone has their own pace when it comes to evolving artistically. Also get a lot of references, and I mean A LOT, and follow them all the time – don’t think you can’t use them, that is NOT cheating no matter what some people say! And don’t follow those how to draw manga books as reference! Draw from actual people, do live drawings, study anatomy, etc. EVEN if your intention isn’t to draw realistically, just knowing the proportions of the human body, how everything works and is built and etc. will help you a hell of a lot when you move on to doing everything in your own style – even better, it’ll help you develop your own style! Oh and always do the flip-test. It’s a life saver.

adoribull - Cópia
Adoribull

ASEXUALITY

Where on the spectrum do you identify?

I’m a panromantic demisexual!

Have you encountered any kind of ace prejudice or ignorance in your field?  If so, how do you handle it?

Not in my field, but personally. back when I didn’t know that asexuality/demisexuality was a thing, my mom told me that it is completely unrealistic of me to expect people to just accept that I don’t want any kind of intimate contact BFORE dating (it’s common for our culture to “hook up” before dating, and hooking up basically means making out with no strings attached, which is a HUGE no-no for me). Nowadays… not so much. I usually avoid saying the word “demisexual” to people, but when I say that I don’t want to hook up with a person I barely know, and don’t actually miss kissing and sex ever since I broke up with my abusive ex, no one really questions it too much. My sister was one exception: she thought I was just being picky and annoying, and got mad because she thought I was overreacting when the thought of kissing a complete stranger made me scratch my arms and cry. A few months later I felt more comfortable talking to her about it, and she did her research and tries to understand me. My online friends all find it quite normal – I have a few friends in the aro spectrum – so overall I’m alright.

What’s the most common misconception about asexuality that you’ve encountered?

Regarding demisexuality specifically, that I’m frigid just because I don’t want to hook up with anyone. I AM interested in sex and whatnot, but I like the whole intimacy of the act rather than the getting off part, and it means that everything slightly more intimate, like kissing on the lips, I find extremely personal and would not do to a person who I don’t trust. Just thinking about it makes my skin crawl :c

anders - Cópia
Anders

What advice would you give to any asexual individuals out there who might be struggling with their orientation?

Don’t rush into anything! Listen to your instincts and your own heart. Don’t let anyone else dictate who or what you are and what you’re comfortable with. You’re not being weird, you’re not being picky, and most important, and you’re not alone.

Finally, where can people find out more about your work?

I have a Tumblr: http://gobetti.tumblr.com, and an AO3: http://archiveofourown.org/users/Gobetti/pseuds/Gobetti 🙂

unfortunately because of work my time to do personal things is limited, so I have a lot less on both those links than I’d like, but hopefully in the near future I’ll be posting more ^_^

girl in glasses - Cópia
Girl in Glasses

Thank you, Gobetti, for participating in this interview and this project. It’s very much appreciated.

One thought on “Interview: Gobetti

  1. In an environment that is completely ignorant of this orientation, it is very difficult to meet another person who understands or even tolerates this preference. It’s really hard in a society such as an African one.

    Like

Leave a Reply

