Interview: Eleanor Price

Today we’re joined by Eleanor Price. Eleanor is a fantastic visual artist who specializes in traditional mediums. She does painting and sketching. Eleanor also did a bit of installation for her A-level exam. She’s quite obviously passionate about art, as you’ll soon see. My thanks to her for taking the time to participate in this interview.

o8il8r2fhX1uqg6g5o1_500

WORK

Please, tell us about your art.

I’m a traditional artist and work in a variety of different mediums but tend to lean towards watercolour and fineliner. At the moment, most of the art I produce is for my a-levels, so I don’t often get to do much work for myself. My most recent work has been a large 3D suspended paper sculpture based on a beehive. That was a lot of fun. I occasionally dabble in photography too but I’m actually rather appalling.

WP_20160516_14_48_12_Pro

What inspires you?

Anything and everything. For the most part it’s stories, often fairy tales, as it leads to surreal and the fantastical imagery that I love. Outside of that it tends to be nature, especially bees and clouds.

The artists that inspire me all tend to be impressionist and nouveau, The colours and style just draw me in. So really Van Gogh, Mucha, Monet and Henri le Sidaner.

WP_20160516_14_49_01_Pro

What got you interested in your field?  Have you always wanted to be an artist?

I have always wanted to be an artist, even when I changed my dream career choice every day when I was younger I never thought I wouldn’t involve art in it somehow. I can’t really say what got me interested, but I would probably put it down to my mum also being a very artsy person. Whenever I wanted to do something involving craft as a kid she would leap at the chance, I was a little spoiled for choice to be honest. While she doesn’t always understand and we disagree more than agree, she really nurtured that love of art for me.

tumblr_o6b5n3WtJM1uqg6g5o1_500

Do you have any kind of special or unique signature, symbol, or feature you include in your work that you’d be willing to reveal?

Nothing as of yet, however I really like the idea, so when I get a chance to develop my own style (hopefully in uni) I might consider working something like that in. I love details and easter eggs so the idea really appeals to me. Although to be honest it will probably just end up being a bee….

What advice would you give young aspiring artists?

You may think your art looks nothing like how you imagined, or how that artist did it, but it really is practice, and you mustn’t give up on something if you love it. And to be perfectly honest if you want your work out there then you need to be on as many platforms as possible and starting out with fan art is always a good idea as it gets you known.

pompeiiiiiiiiiiiiiii

ASEXUALITY

Where on the spectrum do you identify?

I’m still working things out, but at the moment I think the label that fits best is Grey-aro and Ace.

tumblr_o6iarrjIXK1uqg6g5o1_500

Have you encountered any kind of ace prejudice or ignorance in your field?  If so, how do you handle it?

Nothing within my field thankfully, but outside of art there is the fact that I get laughed at for being a ‘late bloomer’ or ‘sweet’ and ‘innocent’ for not really being interested in pursuing sex related relationships. It’s patronising and irritating, but I know that there is worse ignorance that I could be facing so most of the time I smile and stay quiet until that irritation fades away.

tumblr_o70ouyrKVR1uqg6g5o1_500

What’s the most common misconception about asexuality that you’ve encountered?

The flipping plant joke.

tumblr_o7j81t7NFz1uqg6g5o1_500

What advice would you give to any asexual individuals out there who might be struggling with their orientation?

You are not broken. There is nothing wrong with you. I know it can be hellish and awful and sometimes you will just wish that you could be ‘normal’ or not you, but it’s something you cannot change; so find an outlet, a positive and reinforcing one that helps you become more comfortable with yourself. It may take a while but there’s a whole network of people here and around that are more than willing to help you and listen to you. Just take that step and reach out to one of us.

Finally, where can people find out more about your work?

I mostly use my Tumblr: http://ellayouneedtostudy.tumblr.com/

And my Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/cloudofaesthetics/

tumblr_o6ev7etaHL1uqg6g5o1_500

Thank you, Eleanor, for participating in this interview and this project. It’s very much appreciated.

Leave a Reply

