Interview: Scout

Today we’re joined by Scout. Scout is a phenomenal visual artist who mainly uses graphite and colored pencils. They mainly draw animals and food, though they also do some portrait work. There’s an extraordinary amount of detail in their work and the colors make the images pop right off the screen. Scout definitely has an amazing amount of talent and it shows. My thanks to them for taking the time to participate in this interview.

FullSizeRender

WORK

Please, tell us about your art.

I usually work with graphite or colored pencils and I have a realistic style. A lot of my subjects are animals or food. I also do portrait work.

What inspires you?

I love things with bright colors or interesting textures. I think it’s more challenging but also a lot more fun to see the end result.

What got you interested in your field?  Have you always wanted to be an artist?

I’ve been doing art since I was young, and once I got to high school my art teacher really push me to improve. Once I saw what I could do if I put in the effort, I considered a career in art. I’m planning on becoming a tattooist.

Do you have any kind of special or unique signature, symbol, or feature you include in your work that you’d be willing to reveal?

I don’t really do anything special in my work. I think I have a particular style compared to other realism artists, but it might be difficult for others to pick up on

What advice would you give young aspiring artists?

Challenge yourself. If you always do what’s easy, you won’t improve much. And the results are very satisfying because you worked harder.

IMG_0593

ASEXUALITY

Where on the spectrum do you identify?

Sex-repulsed asexual, demiromantic

Have you encountered any kind of ace prejudice or ignorance in your field?  If so, how do you handle it?

I have not encountered any prejudice. I think people care more about how my art looks tbh

What’s the most common misconception about asexuality that you’ve encountered?

Asexual people never have sex. It’s a whole spectrum, and not everyone is sex repulsed. Some asexual people do have sex and some don’t.

What advice would you give to any asexual individuals out there who might be struggling with their orientation?

Find ace communities that validate how you feel. On Tumblr especially, there are many blogs centered around asexuality that can make you feel accepted

Finally, where can people find out more about your work?

I have an art tag (the-real-hash-slinging-slasher.tumblr.com/tagged/art). And if anyone is interested I take commissions.  My ask box is always open 🙂

IMG_1246

Thank you, Scout, for participating in this interview and this project. It’s very much appreciated.

Leave a Reply

