Interview: Jo

Today we’re joined by Jo. Jo is a phenomenal visual artist who is currently studying art and she does a lot of visual art. Jo specializes in photography and realistic painting. She has also started to dabble in digital art and enjoys drawing. Judging from her work, Jo is an incredible talent and one who really loves what she does. My thanks to her for taking the time to participate in this interview.

11212308_839410586148106_734907534_n

WORK

Please, tell us about your art.

I am doing A level art and Photography so I have to do realistic painting that kinda thing for coursework but I also like doodling and doing Digital drawings too in my free time.

I recently managed to decide on a style of digital art that I really like working in which is quite a simplistic pastel line art style.

What inspires you?

I am very inspired by anything fantasy related but I find a lot inspiration in the woods by my house so I like to walk there when I need inspiration. I am also very inspired by my girlfriend and her illustrations, she has an energy that just makes me feel very inspired to draw.

What got you interested in your field?  Have you always wanted to be an artist?

It was my favorite subject as a child and has always been my way of expressing myself. I love how there are so many different styles and endless possibilities with art and I aim to try as many as possible.

Do you have any kind of special or unique signature, symbol, or feature you include in your work that you’d be willing to reveal?

To be honest (as cheesy as it is) I most work from the heart. I might sometimes just start drawing as see where it takes me. I don’t have any specific symbols or anything yet, I change my style too much 😄

What advice would you give young aspiring artists?

Practice makes perfect and don’t be afraid to fail. Doing bad artwork is a stepping stone towards doing good artwork, you just need to be patient.

Skullfaceinverted 1

ASEXUALITY

Where on the spectrum do you identify?

Just kinda generally asexual, not any of the specific types of asexuality.

Have you encountered any kind of ace prejudice or ignorance in your field?  If so, how do you handle it?

I personally haven’t really but that’s mainly because I only recently figured out I was Ace and not many people know yet. If I did I would probably just roll my eyes and ignore it or try my best to explain it to them.

What’s the most common misconception about asexuality that you’ve encountered?

So many people think it’s just cause someone is ‘too young to know’ and that they’ll change their mind when they ‘grow up and meet a nice young man’

What advice would you give to any asexual individuals out there who might be struggling with their orientation?

Just know that there is nothing wrong with you. It’s your body and your life so don’t let someone else make choices for you and never let anyone do anything you’re uncomfortable with. It’s no one else’s business but yours.

Finally, where can people find out more about your work?

I have an art Tumblr but I keep forgetting to post on it 😄 at astronyx-art
My main blog is on Instagram astronyxart
I also make YouTube videos: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCjeU2EvH_Ewx3Wcd5MV4rcw

8  months

Thank you, Jo, for participating in this interview and this project. It’s very much appreciated.

Leave a Reply

