Interview: Morgan Gage

Today we’re joined by Morgan Gage. Morgan is an incredible writer and actress who has identified as asexual for a few years. She’s a theater actress though she is interested in eventually acting in front of the camera at some point. For writing, she is quite versatile: mostly a poet, she also enjoys writing short stories and is working on a novel. This is an artist with an incredibly bright future ahead of her. My thanks to her for taking the time to participate in this interview.

WORK

Please, tell us about your art.

I’m an author, actress, and asexual. I’ve got a thing for the letter ‘A,’ maybe.

I write a poetry primarily, short stories, screenplays, and am currently working on a novel. Writing has always been away for me to express my emotions and viewpoints and to tell the stories that I want to read. I’m involved with man creative writing groups who have given me a lot of support in my writing.

I’m an on stage actress, and I absolutely love everything to do with it. I’ve never worked in front of a camera, and though I’m interested in doing it in the future, I love the energy that comes with performing live and the bond that forms between you and the rest of the cast. It’s such a unique experience since the audience is there with you the entire way for every wrong line or trip in a dance. Hours are spent together just learning a few songs or running through the play one last time in order to avoid a mistake on opening night. I’m currently in a production of Beauty and the Beast with so many lovely people who inspire me to push myself further.

What inspires you?

Most of my inspiration for writing comes from an image, line, or phrase that will come to mind and shape itself into a story or poem. However, I find a lot of inspiration in fairytales and mythology, particularly Greek. I like to read works by other authors, professional, and not to see what I do and don’t like in what they write and apply that to my own work. Recently, I’ve read a lot of Allen Ginsberg who I would definitely recommend reading. More often than not, I can find inspiration all around me in other pieces of art, in current issues that I feel strongly about, and my own emotions.

When it comes to acting, I try to consider all of the little things that shape my character and find the similarities between myself and who I’m playing in order to go beyond just reading lines. For me, to portray a character you have to understand that character and be able to look beyond what you’re told to make your performance of them your own.

What got you interested in your field?  Have you always wanted to be an artist?

When it comes to writing, I’ve always loved books and to tell stories. I learned to read at an early age, and books were what my family members used to bribe me as a child. This love for books became a desire to write books, and I can’t remember a time that I wasn’t interested in writing.

As for acting, I always loved to play pretend and still do. Even today, I play dress up with makeup and old costumes. The idea of being a movie star also got me interested in being an actress, but now I just act for enjoyment.

Do you have any kind of special or unique signature, symbol, or feature you include in your work that you’d be willing to reveal?

My own habits tend to be reflected in the characters I play, so it’s common for their nervous tick to be biting their lip or for many of their mannerisms to be similar to my own.

What advice would you give young aspiring artists?

Give yourself permission to suck. I understand perfectionism, the wish to make your work exactly how you see it in your head, but that isn’t how it will always work out. No matter your field, you need to let yourself suck. Sometimes you will suck, and the goal should be to suck less and to try to improve.

ASEXUALITY

Where on the spectrum do you identify?

I identify as panromantic-asexual.

Have you encountered any kind of ace prejudice or ignorance in your field?  If so, how do you handle it?

I have had people question how I can portray people who aren’t ace in my writing and as an actress which I mostly just brush off. Through creative writing particularly, I’ve met people who are wonderful about my orientation and some who identify on the ace spectrum as well.

What’s the most common misconception about asexuality that you’ve encountered?

The idea that it isn’t real. Personally, I’ve had many people tell me that I’m not really asexual and that I must be lying about it. I met someone who made sexual comments towards me, and they claimed I just wanted to appear innocent when I told them I was ace.

What advice would you give to any asexual individuals out there who might be struggling with their orientation?

Don’t worry about whether this is a phase. Figuring out your sexual and romantic orientation can be confusing, and what you identify as now may not be how you see yourself in a year or even in a week. However, that doesn’t make how you feel any less valid. How and if you choose to label yourself is all about personal preference and what makes you comfortable. Through the years, I’ve identified as straight (for more than the first half of my life), heteroromantic-asexual, and now as panromantic-asexual. It is possible that one day that will change.

Also, don’t feel pressured to come out no matter your romantic orientation or where you fall on the ace-spectrum. Come out when you’re comfortable and safe doing so. Having someone to talk to is always helpful, and I am always up for listening to a rant or even just holding a regular conversation. You can message me on Tumblr if you’d like.

Finally, where can people find out more about your work?

I have some of my old poetry posted on my Tumblr (asexualsunflower) and will hopefully share on there soon about moving to another site to post my writing due to copyright issues concerning posting my writing on Tumblr that I recently learned about.

Unfortunately, I don’t have anywhere that you can see my acting since all of it has been on stage and videotaping plays can be super distracting to the actors and others watching.

Thank you, Morgan, for participating in this interview and this project. It’s very much appreciated.

Leave a Reply

