Interview: Serena Woodall

Today we’re joined by Serena Woodall. Serena is a wonderful visual artist who specializes in digital work. They mostly draw non-humanoid figures, particularly those related to Egyptian mythology. As you’ll soon see, they have quite an eye for detail. My thanks to them for taking the time to participate in this interview.

^F42100A5BA67219B1E756262D34E54F45A73003FA7AEA01DB3^pimgpsh_fullsize_distr

WORK

Please, tell us about your art.

I do digital art, painting, and sketches. Most (well all) of my work has no humanoid faces or hands because I can’t do those!

11111111111111111

What inspires you?

Other’s art, my religion, things around me

11111111111111111111111

What got you interested in your field?  Have you always wanted to be an artist?

I’m not sure, I’ve been drawing since I was tiny. I actually haven’t always wanted to be an artist, when I was young I wanted to be a veterinarian but now I’m going into Criminal Profiling (if that doesn’t work – art)

boo3
Boo 3

Do you have any kind of special or unique signature, symbol, or feature you include in your work that you’d be willing to reveal?

I just do a sloppy sig (which I sometimes forget) and the year

What advice would you give young aspiring artists?

DO YOU BOO, haha, well, just draw, because I swear t you you’ll get better. Art isn’t a born-in-talent! Also- you can enjoy others art but don’t compare yourself to it. Look at your own art, say to yourself “hey I could fix this and that” and go for it.

wingless Toothless
Wingless Toothless

ASEXUALITY

Where on the spectrum do you identify?

I am asexual

Have you encountered any kind of ace prejudice or ignorance in your field?  If so, how do you handle it?

Not currently, but if I did, I would just be even more flamboyantly asexual!

Heru-Wer
Heru-Wer

What’s the most common misconception about asexuality that you’ve encountered?

That we are straight, well, we’re not!

Min and lotus
Min and Lotus

What advice would you give to any asexual individuals out there who might be struggling with their orientation?

You are allowed to not know your sexuality/gender/romantic orientation! You are allowed to change! I thought I was lesbian, then pansexual, now I’m asexual, and who knows, maybe that will change. Don’t let other’s feeling towards your sexuality change how you feel about your sexuality. DO YOU BOO

Wesir as a bull
Wesir as a Bull

Finally, where can people find out more about your work?

Tumblr – Awesome-Reading-Bitch (or) Kemetic-Worship (or) asexualcupioromantic
Deviantart – Zolk

Anubis
Anubis

Thank you, Serena, for participating in this interview and this project. It’s very much appreciated.

One thought on “Interview: Serena Woodall

Leave a Reply

