Interview: Zoe Claire

Today we’re joined by Zoe Claire. Zoe is a wonderful visual artist who also does some writing and acting. She’s an aspiring animator who simply loves to draw. Zoe has a particular affinity for pastels and her drawings demonstrate a unique and imaginative style. My thanks to her for taking the time to participate in this interview.

file_004

WORK

Please, tell us about your art.

I love to draw, and I’m an aspiring animator! I find the idea of images moving just absolutely magical!

My art in particular, well not of it is pretty cute, I love to use pastel colors, especially in watercolor.

Drawing is definitely my passion, but as well I am also a writer with a few published pieces, and an actor!

I would definitely be very lost without the arts!

What inspires you?

My life, mostly. I love to take things I experience and put them into a drawing or a story.

Other artists also inspired me, and others media, sometimes it’s a song I’m listening to or even a Commercial.

Things are always inspiring me.

My inspiration isn’t very complex, it just kinda… comes to me

What got you interested in your field?  Have you always wanted to be an artist?

Well, originally I wanted to be a fashion designer!  And somewhere in my freshman year, I realized that what I really loved was the drawing aspect.  But I’ve been drawing for as long as I can remember.

As soon as I realized what I really wanted to do I dove in, I was already taking quite a few are classes and I just dumped…. on so many more.

And this summer I was lucky enough to help teach classes

2425fa75-180a-4d60-9b3f-c132efa9b985

Do you have any kind of special or unique signature, symbol, or feature you include in your work that you’d be willing to reveal?

My scribble in the corner of my drawings ses Zozo, my childhood nickname.

What advice would you give young aspiring artists?

Keep drawing. And finish.
Finish each drawing.  Even if it isn’t working out the way you wanted.
Finish a sketch book, every page.
If it something you’re bad at, then do it.
But most importantly, draw what you want to draw

708471001-th

ASEXUALITY

Where on the spectrum do you identify?

Asexual demiromantic. I’m still kinda figuring out the details, but so far I like that one most!

Have you encountered any kind of ace prejudice or ignorance in your field?  If so, how do you handle it?

Uhm, not so much in the art field, I actually haven’t experienced much ace prejudice first hand, everyone around me so far has been super positive! Thankfully!

Sometimes when I’m acting, I have to state why I’m very uncomfortable do certain things, but everyone’s usually pretty okay with it!

What’s the most common misconception about asexuality that you’ve encountered?

I’d have to say the most common one is allot of people I’ve met is that they think that if you’re asexual then you are also aromatic.

What advice would you give to any asexual individuals out there who might be struggling with their orientation?

You’re not broken; I know you can kind feel like a lost puppy dog.

And if you do like someone, it doesn’t mean you’re any less asexual, you don’t need sex to love someone it’s all right

Finally, where can people find out more about your work?

My Tumblr blog is the best place, at summersandsodapop
Also I have a Wysp: http://www.wysp.ws/cardsandbows/

a232bedb-36c0-40bb-8ab7-2d54d4abb461

Thank you, Zoe, for participating in this interview and this project. It’s very much appreciated.

Leave a Reply

