Interview: Kirsteen Anne

Today we’re joined by Kirsteen Anne. Kirsteen Anne is a phenomenal hobbyist who hasn’t met a medium she doesn’t like. She writes a lot, mostly short stories and poetry. Aside from writing, she also enjoys doing scenic photography. It’s very clear Kirsteen Anne is an incredibly passionate artist. My thanks to her for taking the time to participate in this interview.

WORK

Please, tell us about your art.

I’ve done a lot of types of art over the years. I used to write songs, as well as dance and sketch. Nowadays I mainly write short stories or poetry, and I act. I even make YouTube videos and take scenic photography on occasion. I do almost everything really.

What inspires you?

I’m often inspired by my surroundings and circumstances, for example I’ll see something or someone will say something and an idea will just pop into my head. When it comes to photography, I tend to look for a contrast in light and dark or colour elements, or just anything in nature that looks appealing. Also my dreams often give me inspiration for writing; I mean don’t the most crazy and exciting things happen in dreams?

What got you interested in your field?  Have you always wanted to be an artist?

This sounds kind of cheesy, but it was my teachers at school that got me into art. During middle school I had an amazing art teacher who inspired me to draw often and improve my art skills. And in my final year of high school, I had two great teachers, English and theatre, who encouraged me to create and show my individuality through my work.

I’ve always had a large imagination and creating my own world where I can live out my fantasies is something I still find appealing. So in that respect yeah, I’ve always wanted to be an artist.

Do you have any kind of special or unique signature, symbol, or feature you include in your work that you’d be willing to reveal?

I definitely have a style when it comes to photography. I love taking photos of trees, so often my photos will include trees or nature in general contrasted with something else. When it comes to everything else I don’t think I do, but whenever I draw I usually use geometric shapes, so I guess that? Also I love the words “flopped” and “probably”. I use those words a lot in my writing. Probably more than I should. (SEE?!)

What advice would you give young aspiring artists?

Try not to compare your art to someone else’s. You’re not that person, so why do you have to draw like them? Try to focus on yourself and not other people. I’ve spent too much time worrying about that and it’s put me off creating art multiple times.

ASEXUALITY

Where on the spectrum do you identify?

I’m a pan-romantic asexual.

Have you encountered any kind of ace prejudice or ignorance in your field?  If so, how do you handle it?

I haven’t experienced any prejudice online, but once when I was showing a piece of writing to a few friends one of them commented something along the lines of: “Did you do this seriously? With no innuendos? Oh wait, never mind. You’ll get what I mean eventually.” I remember it really rubbing me the wrong way, but I just ignored it.

What’s the most common misconception about asexuality that you’ve encountered?

That all asexuals are just broken and/or naive. I’ve heard the naive one a lot, way before I knew what asexuality was. So many people were talking about sex in high school, and I just wasn’t interested and I was asked a lot about it. That wasn’t very pleasant.

What advice would you give to any asexual individuals out there who might be struggling with their orientation?

Don’t let anyone tell you what you are. If you say that you’re asexual and people don’t respect that, you don’t have to change for them. In the end how you categorise yourself or how you perceive yourself is all that matters.

Finally, where can people find out more about your work?

Well I can’t put up any of my acting up, but my YouTube channel is voKals, if you want to search it up. My photography Tumblr is (at) frontfacephotography, and I’m not sure if I’m ever gonna post any of my art or original writing online but if I do it’ll be on my main Tumblr (at kgrl7). I’ve also got an account on AO3, if you want to find my singular published fanfic just search up Writer156. Thank you!

Thank you, Kirsteen Anne, for participating in this interview and this project. It’s very much appreciated.

Leave a Reply

