Interview: Julia

Today we’re joined by Julia. Julia is an incredibly talented painter who is currently studying A level art. She mostly works with oil paints and acrylic paints, which she loves. Julia is an incredibly passionate artist who has a great amount of enthusiasm, which clearly shows in her beautiful work. This is an artist who obviously has a very bright future. My thanks to her for taking the time to participate in this interview.

1-final-piece-yr10-oil
Final Piece, year 10

WORK

Please, tell us about your art.

I am currently studying A Level Art and it’s my favourite thing. I prefer to use paints with oil paint being my favourite closely followed by acrylic. At the moment our project is about nature and I have chosen leaves as my focus point, however the attached pictures are works from my GCSE where the projects were Land, Sea, Sky; The Senses; and Past, Present and Future.

What inspires you?

I suppose at the moment I draw most of my inspiration from other artists as that is required for the A Level course, however lots of the time I just get inspired by objects and things around me. I like to work from real life so I mainly choose my focus in a project to be something I can easily work from without the use of pictures from the internet etc.

What got you interested in your field?  Have you always wanted to be an artist?

I have definitely not always liked art, I remember being absolutely terrible at it probably until year 9 (age 13/14) until I had a major turning point which I don’t know where it came from. The interest definitely came when I learnt the joy of acrylic paint, I REALLY love to paint, and acrylic was the first proper paint I learnt to use, before then I thought paint was only those awful ready mixed watery cheap paints which are impossible to use well.

2-hands-oil-1
Hands Oil 1

Do you have any kind of special or unique signature, symbol, or feature you include in your work that you’d be willing to reveal?

I don’t have a signature but I think my style is quite recognizable- I use a lot of different colours and quite clear brushstrokes, apparently my drawing style is quite distinctive too.

What advice would you give young aspiring artists?

Keep at it, because you’ll definitely improve. If you love it, pursue it. Try to work as much from observation as possible, even if it’s hard at first you will get better.

3-hands-oil-2
Hands Oil 2

ASEXUALITY

Where on the spectrum do you identify?

Panromantic asexual, kinda sex repulsed

Have you encountered any kind of ace prejudice or ignorance in your field?  If so, how do you handle it?

No I haven’t really, but I think that’s due to the fact that I’m only out to my friends who are lovely. One of my friends didn’t know what asexuality was so I explained and she was very understanding, I don’t know if that’s particularly ignorance from her, because tbh I think most people don’t know or have the wrong idea of what asexuality is.

What’s the most common misconception about asexuality that you’ve encountered?

That we don’t want any kind of romantic relationship, that none of us have had/will ever have sex. Yeah, but with a little bit of explanation its fine (as far as my experience goes).

4-final-piece-yr11-oil
Final Piece, year 11

What advice would you give to any asexual individuals out there who might be struggling with their orientation?

You don’t have to label it right away if you don’t want to. Read around asexuality more if you want. If you feel alone or don’t know any other aces try and join a group if possible or otherwise just follow ace blogs on Tumblr. Doing that helped me a lot and doesn’t may asexuality seem so weird or unheard of anymore. I saw a video on YouTube recently on asexuality which I thought was pretty good called ‘Taking the Cake’ so watch that if you want. Remember that asexuality is so broad so if you see something which doesn’t apply to you don’t worry, you can still identify as ace.

Finally, where can people find out more about your work?

Well I have a Tumblr: moundodirt.tumblr.com but tbh that’s mainly cats and memes rather than art, but who knows maybe one day I will include art on it too.

5-exam-piece-toys-oil-and-oil-pastel
Toys, oil and oil pastel

Thank you, Julia, for participating in this interview and this project. It’s very much appreciated.

Leave a Reply

