Interview: Tiara Marshall

Today we’re joined by Tiara Marshall. Tiara is an amazingly talented animator who also does some illustration. She mostly works in 2D animation, which she pours an incredibly amount of time and effort into.. The amount of detail and care put into her illustrations makes for incredibly gorgeous and unique imagery, as you’ll soon see. My thanks to her for taking the time to participate in this interview.

1-portrait
Portrait

WORK

Please, tell us about your art.

A lot of my work is 2D animation, and experimental motion graphics. It takes a lot of time to complete even a short animated piece so I tend to sketch and illustrate a lot more than animate.

2-blue-vs-red
Blue vs. Red

What inspires you?

What inspires me the most is art that is overly dramatic and theatrical, so anything from photography, illustration, performance and musical. If it’s big and loud I’m in 100%.

Street art and graffiti is where I pull some of the most visual inspiration from. Amose (a French artist) and Sat One (an artist in Munich) are two artists I can always be inspired out of an art block by.

And for animation it’s all about Don Bluth and Chuck Jones, that acting and characterization give my animator soul life.

3-cartoon_5
Cartoon

What got you interested in your field?  Have you always wanted to be an artist?

I grew up being dragged around everywhere by my mom and she’d always plant me somewhere with a box of colors to draw, so naturally I ended up in the traditional art field. Paintings, life drawing, sculpture ect.

It wasn’t until I was graduating from junior college that I had to come to a reckoning and decide what I wanted to do with my life. Art and dancing had been a huge part of my life since I was 3, but I suffered a lot of injuries from dance so I chose art for the sake of my health.

I was still in love with the art form of dance and moving figures when it finally dawned on me: “Ah! Animation is moving art!” An odd logic leap to decide your career on I admit, but it was enough for me. So I went to a four year college to learn animation and have had the pleasure of working as a character animator!

4-chibi-portrait
Chibi Portrait

Do you have any kind of special or unique signature, symbol, or feature you include in your work that you’d be willing to reveal?

Looking at my art as a whole, I’d say it’s fairly disconnected with no unifying theme or symbols. The only thing that stays the same is my signature, which I’ll admit I spent a lot of time actually designing when I was younger. I mean, every artist is supposed to have a crazy cool signature, right?

5-classic-dracula
Classic Dracula

What advice would you give young aspiring artists?

For all mediums of art, just remember the difference between constructive and destructive critique.

I always thought I was so tough for being able to stand up and take brutal critique, and by that I mean: “This is shit, all of it is shit. Why aren’t you focusing more and story and character development?” (whatever that means)

An actual quote from my professor, for which I was expected to defend my work and make changes based on class critique.

But that’s not being tough, that’s not even helpful feedback. And even while I believed I wasn’t letting their words affect me, it took years for me to be able to say “I am good at what I do” and mean it.

To know your worth and not let people take that from you is so important.

Yes, you’ve got to have thick skin come critique time, be it at school or at work, but I found there is a limit before it is just plain abusive.

6-experiment13
Experiment

ASEXUALITY

Where on the spectrum do you identify?

I’m a heteromantic ace on the sex repulsed end of the spectrum.

7-ghostbusters
Ghostbusters

Have you encountered any kind of ace prejudice or ignorance in your field?  If so, how do you handle it?

Mostly ignorance. I have not encountered anyone being outright aggressive, though they are always quite adamant about their disbelief.

8-guess2
Guess 2

What’s the most common misconception about asexuality that you’ve encountered?

It does not come up in conversation often, but when it has it has always been met with “That’s not really a thing right?” Correcting them has posed a challenge, but if they meet one ace now maybe they won’t be so aghast at the next ace they meet.

9-inktober-day02
Inktober, Day 2

What advice would you give to any asexual individuals out there who might be struggling with their orientation?

I think the best advice is to listen to yourself, and it’s OK to change your mind if you feel a different way later on.

Humans don’t work in absolutes, we work in ranges and on sliding scales. And if you find a place internally where you are comfortable with yourself, it will be easier to face the challenges the outside world might through at you.

10-inktober-day03
Inktober, Day 3

Finally, where can people find out more about your work?

Both my animation and illustration can be found on my website: tiaramarshall.wordpress.com

11-armadillo
Armadillo

Thank you, Tiara, for participating in this interview and this project. It’s very much appreciated.

Leave a Reply

