Interview: Ari

Today we’re joined by Ari. Ari is a phenomenal writer who has been working on her craft since she was young. Most of her writing appears online and she’s incredibly dedicated to her craft, as you’ll soon read. Ari is a wonderfully talented and passionate writer, one who has a great amount of love for storytelling. My thanks to her for taking the time to participate in this interview.

WORK

Please, tell us about your art.

My main art form is writing. Though it is only published online it is how I express my emotions and thoughts. I have written novellas since I was a child and full sized novels since I was eleven. I finished my first novel when I was twelve. I always say I dislike how badly I wrote back then but in truth I am proud of my art. It is mostly about great warriors and romance. I dislike clichés but I do love a tragic romance; no matter how much of a contradiction that makes me. A few are about overcoming various troubles. That’s my way of making a political statement. My everlasting open mindedness is shown in the diversity of my characters.

What inspires you?

A few years ago I went to an event called Wattpad LondonCon. It was a panel of authors who spoke about various things. After the panel I spoke to a poet who told me something interesting. He said that you have to remember that inspiration is all around you. That you could look outside, see a tree and think that it is an ancient being that watches over humanity. That trees have their own way of communicating. I had a different source of inspiration before that day but that became how I gain the inspiration to create my art. Now I see little things all around me and make a subplot to a story or the basis of a character’s personality. My inspiration is our world and the people in it.

What got you interested in your field?  Have you always wanted to be an artist?

I have always had a love of books. It is what my grandmother instilled in me as a child. It started as just reading but it changed when I found Wattpad. I never thought I could write as a profession; but to post my work online and let people happily immerse themselves in another world for a while is enough for me. Beth Reekles is who specifically gave me the courage to share my stories. She has overcome a lot in her journey to becoming a published author and it inspired me.

Do you have any kind of special or unique signature, symbol, or feature you include in your work that you’d be willing to reveal?

Unfortunately I don’t specifically put anything in my novels. I create a synopsis and the basis of a few characters and let it write itself. As lot of authors do, I say that we are simply conduits. That the characters direct the stories.

What advice would you give young aspiring artists?

I would tell them to be brave, creative and to never give up. Even J.K. Rowling was turned down by publishers many times before she could get her work out into the world. I would also say that there are many ways of getting published. A lot of Wattpad authors for example are approached by publishing companies, whereas others have to go out and search for a publishing company. You never know where your success will come from. It might not be from somewhere you’d expect.

ASEXUALITY

Where on the spectrum do you identify?

I identify as an aromantic asexual.

Have you encountered any kind of ace prejudice or ignorance in your field?  If so, how do you handle it?

I haven’t encountered any prejudice or ignorance in my field but that is because nobody knows I’m asexual. It’s not a secret but nobody there ever asked about it. People usually assume I’m heterosexual despite the fact that I act “like a lesbian”. Some have forgotten I’m asexual a few times and said that it was because I behave so much like a lesbian. If someone can tell me what that means I’d love to hear it.

What’s the most common misconception about asexuality that you’ve encountered?

The most common misconception that I’ve heard of is that there is something physically different about us. People can’t seem to grasp the concept of asexuality and so think up things like that. Needless to say, most of the misconceptios are just as ridiculous.

What advice would you give to any asexual individuals out there who might be struggling with their orientation?

I would tell them that they aren’t alone. Also that if they don’t want to come out of the metaphorical closet they don’t have to. It isn’t a necessity. It is perfectly okay to stay closeted while you are figuring yourself out and even after that. I would tell them to remember that nobody comes to terms with who they are in a day. Finding and accepting yourself is a long process.

Finally, where can people find out more about your work?

I am in the process of finding a new Wattpad username so I won’t put a link to my profile here as it will be useless soon. My personal Tumblr is so-t-i-r-e-d for anyone who wants to come see my randomness. I’d love to meet more authors so send me a message anytime.

Thank you, Ari, for participating in this interview and this project. It’s very much appreciated.

One thought on “Interview: Ari

Leave a Reply

