Interview: Natasha

Today we’re joined by Natasha. Natasha is a wonderful visual artist who specializes in digital drawing. She mostly enjoys drawing people and has a great eye for lines. Her pictures show a great attention to detail and she obviously enjoys what she does. My thanks to her for taking the time to participate in this interview.

goth-girl-sketch
Goth Girl

WORK

Please, tell us about your art.

I’m a digital artist and hobby photographer. I change styles a lot and try to challenge myself but I tend to stick to just drawing people. Art is my way of release. I don’t draw how I feel I just draw and watch myself be good at it and it calms me whenever I’m stressed or anxious which is kinda often.

What inspires you?

I don’t really have any inspiration… for as long as I can remember I’ve been good at art and people have always told me so. I guess, maybe, they’re the ones who inspired me?

What got you interested in your field?  Have you always wanted to be an artist?

I drew just because I was good at it. That’s all. I never wanted to become an artist, necessarily. I wanted to keep drawing, sure, but I spent most of my life telling myself I’d be an engineer. It was what my dad wanted for me so I didn’t ever question it. Until I got into high school, that is. That’s when I decided to stop pushing myself so hard and just follow my joy.

little-koi-fish
Little Koi Fish

Do you have any kind of special or unique signature, symbol, or feature you include in your work that you’d be willing to reveal?

I’ve started signing my work with my initials, NK.

What advice would you give young aspiring artists?

When someone tells you something seems off about a drawing, never make the excuse “that’s just my style” or get mad and push them away. Notice the mistake, accept it, improve upon it and learn from it. That’s what I think marks a true artist, the ability to take criticism and turn it into good.

looking-down-wip
Looking Down

ASEXUALITY

Where on the spectrum do you identify?

I’m asexual and afraid of sex/sexual topics. I heard there was a specific kind of asexual for that but I forget what it’s called.

Have you encountered any kind of ace prejudice or ignorance in your field?  If so, how do you handle it?

Not really, I only just started coming out to some of my close friends.

What’s the most common misconception about asexuality that you’ve encountered?

“That’s not really a sexuality though, more like a lack of it.”

What advice would you give to any asexual individuals out there who might be struggling with their orientation?

If you aren’t sure, don’t push it. Maybe you just aren’t made to fit into a label. Just accept yourself and your feelings and maybe someday you’ll reach a spot and say, “Oh yeah, I’m ___.” But maybe not. That’s fine too.

Finally, where can people find out more about your work?

I have a Facebook page, a DeviantArt account and a Tumblr blog!

twisting-mermaid
Twisting Mermaid

Thank you, Natasha, for participating in this interview and this project. It’s very much appreciated.

Leave a Reply

