Interview: Emily

Today we’re joined by Emily. Emily is a wonderful writer who mostly writes poetry and fanfiction. She has been included in a few anthologies and is currently working on a couple different projects. She’s very dedicated, as you’ll soon read. My thanks to her for taking the time to participate in this interview.

anthologies

WORK

Please, tell us about your art.

I’m a writer — I mostly do fanworks, though I do have few poems published in local anthologies. I also have a blog (though updates are not nearly as regular as they should be) and I’m currently working on a one-act play. I’ve competed in NaNoWriMo twice and Camp NaNo once, winning each time. My novels are as yet unfinished and still in very rough drafts.

What inspires you?

Music, usually. A lot of my stories follow the structures of songs, and I actually wrote a novelette based on an album I loved. I also have a hobby of collecting people’s stories, especially older people. I’ve got a stack of them at home that I flip through when I get stuck and several of them are woven through pieces I’ve written.

What got you interested in your field?  Have you always wanted to be an artist?

I started reading really young. They actually ran out of books at my elementary school for me to read before I finished fourth grade. I was encouraged by my grandma and several of my teachers to work hard in writing, but it was my sophomore year English teacher who really believed in me and made me think that I could do it. She wrote me countless recommendation letters to writing programs and still sends me notes of encouragement.

Do you have any kind of special or unique signature, symbol, or feature you include in your work that you’d be willing to reveal?

I don’t necessarily have a unique signature in my pieces, but I do tend to work references to my other stories into many of them. Even if they stretch across universes, timelines, or fandoms, there’ll be one line in there that calls back to a previous work.

What advice would you give young aspiring artists?

When you get started, you’re going to suck. Once you accept that, keep going. That’s the only way anyone gets anywhere.

certificates

ASEXUALITY

Where on the spectrum do you identify?

I am a lithromantic asexual.

Have you encountered any kind of ace prejudice or ignorance in your field?  If so, how do you handle it?

There is a distinct lack of asexual characters in the traditional publishing world. I’m starting an editing internship soon at a firm that specializes in LGBTQ+ stories, and hope to work towards correcting that.

What’s the most common misconception about asexuality that you’ve encountered?

One that I’m told a lot is that I’m only ace because I’m a Christian and to be anything else would be a sin. Correlation does not equal causation, and religion and sexuality are not mutually exclusive.

What advice would you give to any asexual individuals out there who might be struggling with their orientation?

You don’t have to do something if you’re not comfortable with it. And there’s nothing wrong with these feelings. Surround yourself with people who understand and accept that.

Finally, where can people find out more about your work?

Check me out on AO3: archiveofourown.org/users/meandmybrokenfeels
My writing Tumblr: write-likeyourerunningoutoftime.tumblr.com
My personal Tumblr: meandmybrokenfeels.tumblr.com
Or my blog: istilldontgetitall.wordpress.com

writing-board

Thank you, Emily, for participating in this interview and this project. It’s very much appreciated.

Leave a Reply

