Interview: Berrien Lucius

Today we’re joined by Berrien Lucius. Berrien is a phenomenal digital artist who specializes in digital illustration. Their art is beautiful, brimming with emotion and color, as you’ll soon see. My thanks to them for taking the time to participate in this interview.

a-great-mom
A Great Mom

WORK

Please, tell us about your art.

I do digital illustrations. Sometimes I just sketch, and sometimes I paint.

What inspires you?

Stories inspire me greatly. Usually, it’s passion in the story, of any kind. Either great love for friends, a romantic interest, or utter loathing for an enemy. Sometimes it’s the journey itself, or, more subtle things, like just the mood presented in a scene. In any case, stories have always been my number one inspiration.

What got you interested in your field?  Have you always wanted to be an artist?

I was diagnosed with a severe speech impediment when I was only two, and growing up, unable to speak in a way anyone could understand me, I would draw to communicate. I got praised on it so much, I decided I wanted to be an artist when I grew up.

Do you have any kind of special or unique signature, symbol, or feature you include in your work that you’d be willing to reveal?

No, but I’ve recently decided to try to get in the habit of signing my works.

What advice would you give young aspiring artists?

Being born with a natural duck-to-water ability to create art, whatever your art is, does not mean you will be automatically successful. Sometimes, people with no natural born skill at art can succeed far above you, just through sheer hard work. Talent can only get you so far. You have to put in the hard work if you want to be any bit successful. You’ve got to learn how to keep at it. So even if you feel like you can’t draw, or whatever the type of art you want to get into is, then don’t despair. You’re super likely to get good if you just work at it. I believe in you.

Also, for those who are sketchers and painters and the like, your eyes are always more skilled than your hands. This means, when you look at your art, it will usually always look bad in some ways. This isn’t because you’re a bad artist, this is just because you’re getting better, and your eyes are getting better, and they’re seeing the flaws. The flaws that your hand can’t make up for but your eyes see. If you’re seeing flaws in your art, that’s a good thing. That means you’re improving.

dazed
Dazed

ASEXUALITY

Where on the spectrum do you identify?

Asexual.

Have you encountered any kind of ace prejudice or ignorance in your field?  If so, how do you handle it?

I’ve handled a good bit of it! For any kind of scary encounter, I don’t really know how to handle it, and instead try to laugh it off and avoid it entirely. When it comes to just the mean kind or something, I do my best to be an informant. I feel like it’s my duty to inform people of how that was wrong or hurtful, and hope they don’t continue to be jerks. If they do, then I just ignore them from then on as best as I can.

What’s the most common misconception about asexuality that you’ve encountered?

Oh easily that it’s “not real”.

What advice would you give to any asexual individuals out there who might be struggling with their orientation?

It’s chill, my dude. You don’t have to figure everything out at once. It can be hard, with all the new vocab you’ll be learning, being in a religious family, being religious yourself, the way the larger LGBT+ community treats you, how you may get treated at work or school for it, but chin up. You are definitely not alone, and there are so many people who are willing to help you figure out your asexuality, or help you deal with bullies and other harrassers. You’re not wrong for being the way you are. You’re amazing and wonderful the way you are. If one day you think that maybe you’re not asexual anymore, then that’s cool too. You’re okay. No pressure. Take your time and you can get through these hurdles patiently.

Finally, where can people find out more about your work?

In advance, thank you for checking out my art!

asexualmew.tumblr.com/tagged/my-art

Thank you, Berrien, for participating in this interview and this project. It’s very much appreciated.

Leave a Reply

