Interview: Zachary

Today we’re joined by Zachary. Zachary is a young writer who has an incredibly passion for the theater. They’re a playwright and they’ve recently written a play about a girl coming to terms with her asexuality. Zachary also aspires to act one day. It’s very clear they have a bright future ahead of them. My thanks to them for taking the time to participate in this interview.

WORK

Please, tell us about your art.

I have been an aspiring thespian and writer for a very long time, and recently have started combining these passions: I’ve started to write plays, the first of which is about a teenage girl coming to terms with her own Asexuality.

What inspires you?

I’ve always drawn inspiration from several different sources, but for all my Asexuality related work, it’s been from a sense of wanting to reach out to people and assure them that they might not be alone. That’s what pushes me to keep working on projects like these.

What got you interested in your field?  Have you always wanted to be an artist?

I’ve always been interested in literature since I was born, as my parents would often read to me as a child. It wasn’t until my high school drama teacher read some of my writing and suggested I try scripts that I got into playwriting, however.

Do you have any kind of special or unique signature, symbol, or feature you include in your work that you’d be willing to reveal?

Every play I’ve written, especially Unbreakable, uses the idea of the title in a surface way, but it also persists as a unique symbol, where I use it on as many layers as I can. The word unbreakable, in particular, not only applies to the main character, but every character in the play.

What advice would you give young aspiring artists?

Find something or someone who makes you want to keep doing what you’re doing. You’ll never finish your larger projects unless you have something to work for.

ASEXUALITY

Where on the spectrum do you identify?

When it comes to sexuality, I am Asexual. However, I am also Biromantic.

Have you encountered any kind of ace prejudice or ignorance in your field?  If so, how do you handle it?

I have not encountered much, if any prejudice, but oftentimes, when I encounter ignorance, I find the best solution is gentle education. Most people will respond well to learning, so long as you keep yourself from condescension.

What’s the most common misconception about asexuality that you’ve encountered?

That we don’t ever have or want sex. I personally do not, but anytime I encounter that assumption, I do my best to dispel that notion.

What advice would you give to any asexual individuals out there who might be struggling with their orientation?

It takes time. There’s no need to rush, and no one is forcing you to figure it out. Even if you’re certain that you’ve settled on how you identify, it might take time to feel completely comfortable with it. And that’s ok. Don’t force yourself to do anything.

Finally, where can people find out more about your work?

At the moment, my work isn’t really anywhere public. If someone is interested enough, though I have no idea why they would be, they could contact me at zwt.wynen@gmail.com. My plays are all currently private so far, but a few are currently going through the publication process. With any luck, you might be able to see the scripts with affiliation with Samuel French Inc.

Thank you, Zachary, for participating in this interview and this project. It’s very much appreciated.

Leave a Reply

