Interview: Elliot

Today we’re joined by Elliot. Elliot is a phenomenal visual artist who specializes in digital art. He’s working on developing his own style and shows a great passion for vibrant colors. He’s obviously quite enthusiastic about visual art, which you’ll soon read. My thanks to him for taking the time to participate in this interview.

del
Del

WORK

Please, tell us about your art.

I mostly do digital art, though I have a handful of sketchbooks around my room right now. I’m trying to develop a cartoony style and portray a lot of colors, but for the most part I really just do my own thing and whatever makes me happy! Fanart is pretty rare, so most of my art is original characters or just random folks I happened to scribble down.

What inspires you?

Sometimes everything, sometimes nothing. Watching other artists (speedpaints, doodles, sculpting) inspires me a lot of the time. Music is a pretty big one as well! Every Saturday I get a rush of inspiration from Arin Hanson/Egoraptor’s #cutiesaturday on Twitter.

What got you interested in your field?  Have you always wanted to be an artist?

Watching anime as a little kid helped a lot. Both of my parents were artists in their own right (my dad was a musician, my mother a… whatever she felt like that week), so that helped. I specifically remember watching Sailor Moon with my big sister every day after school and that really got me into art.

I haven’t always wanted to be an artist, though. There was a short time where I was in denial of it, even. I completely stopped drawing aside from the occasional doodle and convinced myself I’d never pick it up again. Years later, I still regret not practicing during that time.

Do you have any kind of special or unique signature, symbol, or feature you include in your work that you’d be willing to reveal?

Ah geeze, my art is always developing, so not really. Hopefully one day I’ll have something special!

What advice would you give young aspiring artists?

Art is tough! You have to practice all the time, but it’s worth it. Even if you don’t see improvement when you look down at the paper in front of you, try and do a side by side of something you drew months or years ago. It’ll really help to see how far you’ve come! Also, never be afraid to look at references. Everyone does it at one point, no shame in it!

ASEXUALITY

Where on the spectrum do you identify?

I am 110%, black as coal asexual.

Have you encountered any kind of ace prejudice or ignorance in your field?  If so, how do you handle it?

Oh gosh, yeah. I’ve had people tell me I could never sell my art because I won’t draw nsfw things. I’ve even had the joy of people telling me that it was “unnatural” for an artist to not be hyper-sexual, which is ridiculous. I generally just ignore those people, or roll my eyes, shrug, and tell them that they’re wrong.

What’s the most common misconception about asexuality that you’ve encountered?

The biggest? But there are so many!

I think my favorite so far is when people compare me to a plant.

What advice would you give to any asexual individuals out there who might be struggling with their orientation?

It’s alright if you aren’t 100% sure of your orientation. You’re allowed to experiment and change labels, anyone that says otherwise is being ridiculous. Do what makes you happy, as long as you aren’t seriously hurting anyone. Also, asexuality is a pretty big spectrum. So don’t worry if you don’t fit into anyone’s concrete definition.

Finally, where can people find out more about your work?

My art blog over at http://slobberingcolors.tumblr.com/ is where I post my art the most often!

Thank you, Elliot, for participating in this interview and this project. It’s very much appreciated.

Leave a Reply

