Interview: Lahraeb Munir

Today we’re joined by Lahraeb Munir. Lahraeb is a wonderful writer who writes a lot of poetry and is currently working on a novel as well as some short stories. They’ve published some creative non-fiction and have been published in some literary magazines. My thanks to them for taking the time to participate in this interview.

1. IMG_20170112_111525_407

WORK

Please, tell us about your art.

I consider myself a writer, albeit an experimental one! I mainly write poetry, though am working on a novel & I also have a couple of short story projects on the side. My poetry is definitely what you’d call abstract – I like readers to take their own interpretations & I love reading their understanding of the words, which is so different to mine, yet just as valid. It’s pretty cool. In books, I like to write underrepresented or misunderstood characters, such as poc, queer or disabled people. I have had poetry & creative non-fiction published in a few literary magazines, which is a heck of an experience & I am thankful to anyone who reads my work, enjoys it & connects with it.

What inspires you?

I focus very much on the human condition: why we do what we do & how we do it. I often draw on personal experiences to write pieces & tend to use the written word as a form of communication. I am inspired by the relentlessness & fragility of humanity & how people are different in all the same ways. I am both scared & awed by people & that is what I try to express. Also nice comments from my readers keep me going.

What got you interested in your field?  Have you always wanted to be an artist?

I have always been an avid reader, but only started writing myself in my early teens. I think words are incredibly valuable & so many people misuse or abuse them, which is quite sad. I am drawn to their perfect infallibility – try as I might, I can never really get across what I am trying to say, so in that way I can tell the same story an infinite amount of times & I think that`s rather amazing. I am not really sure what career path I want to take & writing has always been more of a hobby than anything else – though that does have the potential to change.

Do you have any kind of special or unique signature, symbol, or feature you include in your work that you’d be willing to reveal?

Well, as you can see, I like to write in lowercase & use “&” – for no other reason than I find it aesthetically calming. I am aware that some people may find it annoying, so I tend to capitalize properly in novels. I also like using {these brackets} because I think they are cool {that being said by a vastly uncool person!} I am also a fan of puns & wordplay & having more than one meaning attached to a particular phrase so people can take it to mean what they want to – & so I end up playing around with format and structure a lot.

What advice would you give young aspiring artists?

I would tell them to always make sure they enjoy what they create – it’s easy to get lost in the demands and whims of people, particularly in this technological age, so if you find that you are not enjoying the creative process as much or just creating for other people and not yourself then it’s perfectly acceptable to step back and take a break to evaluate what your art really means to you. Also, take risks – most of the time, they might not work out, but that one time it does, it’s freaking awesome!

2. first bit of poem [JPEG]

3. second bit of poem [JPEG]

ASEXUALITY

Where on the spectrum do you identify?

I identify as asexual – simply using the umbrella term, as I don’t really connect with any of the more specific terms. All I know is I am not sexually attracted to people & I am fine with that.

Have you encountered any kind of ace prejudice or ignorance in your field?  If so, how do you handle it?

The writing community itself is so diverse, so I have been lucky not to encounter any prejudice regarding my sexuality.

What’s the most common misconception about asexuality that you’ve encountered?

that we are all broken or damaged in some way – we’ve either been abused, have hormone imbalances or some other underlying pathology to make us this way – & why that may be true for some aces, they are still valid aces regardless. People seem to find it hard to comprehend that asexuality is not a choice, and although it may be influenced by life events, it is not caused by it.

Also, people seem to think that the concept of being queer & the concept of being religious are so dramatically opposed that should the two collide in one person, the notion is completely rejected! Although this refers to queerness in general, it is still something that annoys me a lot because I am pretty sure I exist, but people seem to want to challenge me on that.

What advice would you give to any asexual individuals out there who might be struggling with their orientation?

It’s okay to be struggling, but the struggles do not define who you are & it is important to remember that. It’s best to surround yourself with a positive network of people with similar experiences – & there is loads of ace positivity online {try your best to avoid the discourse}. Remember: you are not a freak, you are accepted and valid – even if it doesn’t feel that way. & it’s okay if your orientation changes – there are a wide variety of terms to accommodate whatever it is you feel & you will always be valid no matter what labels you choose.

Finally, where can people find out more about your work?

People can see more of my work on Wattpad: thefineideayoucrave
I also have a blog: https://uncoveringthefineideaswecrave.wordpress.com/
& a Tumblr: https://thefineideayoucrave.tumblr.com/

4. AceFlag

Thank you, Lahraeb, for participating in this interview and this project. It’s very much appreciated.

One thought on “Interview: Lahraeb Munir

  1. wattpad: https://www.wattpad.com/user/thefineideaswecrave

    tumblr: https://thefineideaswecrave.tumblr.com/

    facebook: https://www.facebook.com/thefineideaswecrave/

    my social media links have been updated

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

