Interview: Electrospectrum

Today we’re joined by Electrospectrum, who also goes by Chase. Electrospectrum is an incredible videographer who specializes in Cosplay Music Videos (also known as CMVs). He’s also a dedicated cosplayer. He is an incredibly passionate artist and the love for his medium of choice shines through in his work. My thanks to him for taking the time to participate in this interview.

14440673_10205547445364537_4371913954354713908_n

WORK

Please, tell us about your art.

I’m a videographer from the UK who mainly makes Cosplay Music Videos (or CMVs for short!). I started this back in 2013 at MCM Comic Con in May and haven’t been able to stop since.

I love capturing the details and hard work that goes into every cosplay, the characters that people have so much fun portraying and the different atmosphere each event I go to has.

Cosplay is for everyone and I want all sorts of people to feel like they can be included in epic and fun CMVs!

What inspires you?

The cosplayers I film, mainly. I’ve been lucky enough to film some amazing and highly skilled people from all over the world, as well as the EuroCosplay finals a couple of times now and the level of detail that cosplayers put into their work never ceases to amaze me. Also Beatdownboogie has always inspired my work and my great friend Littlegeeky. They both make such fun and unique CMVs that I would definitely recommend watching.

What got you interested in your field?  Have you always wanted to be an artist?

I was really into Media Studies at GCSE and A-Level and wanted to get into the Film Industry for a while because of it. My friend Littlegeeky started making CMVs back at the end of 2011 and since I was already well into cosplay at the time, I thought that would be a great way for me to fuse my passions, plus I had a friend to give me tips from the start.

I’ve always wanted to do something artistic and whilst I’m not as interested in getting into Film anymore, this is definitely the art I want to create.

12291981_1214564375226146_1688038229521700200_o

Do you have any kind of special or unique signature, symbol, or feature you include in your work that you’d be willing to reveal?

I think I have some fairly unique features to my CMVs! Or at least ones that I’ve only seen a few other videographers add in.

I like to put in close up detail shots of costumes, fun shots from around the event and candids of people enjoying themselves as I think it really shows how fun the hobby is. My favourite ‘Electrospectrum feature,’ as some of my friends have called it, is planned out scenes that capture an interaction or scene with a few characters (Check out the Borderlands shot at 0:19 from my London Comic Con video from this May!). This is usually intercut between a few separate shots to create a nice flow and plus I just think it looks cool. I always want to create something visually interesting for people to watch.

What advice would you give young aspiring artists?

If you want to get into videography or film work of any kind, don’t be afraid to just try it. So you don’t have expensive equipment? That’s fine, I started out on my family’s handheld camera, just try it. You don’t have any equipment at all? Make videos of your phone, people are telling visual stories and jokes through apps like Vine and Instagram everyday! You’re worried no one will watch what you make? We all start somewhere and building an audience is part of that! It’ll be OK, just keep making what you love and people who love it too will find their way to you.

I fully believe anyone can get into videography with a bit of hard work, determination and an eye for shots. If you want to ask me anything personally, my ask box is always open!

img_4696

ASEXUALITY

Where on the spectrum do you identify?

Sex-repulsed asexual!

Have you encountered any kind of ace prejudice or ignorance in your field?  If so, how do you handle it?

Not particularly as it doesn’t really come up much. Passively though, there’s a few things I’ve noticed, such as the cosplay videography field mainly being taken up by straight men. There can be a bit of a ‘sex sells’ mentality in some people’s work that I don’t agree with, but my asexuality has never been targeted.

What’s the most common misconception about asexuality that you’ve encountered?

That ace people are broken. It’s a horrible thing to think about someone that just because they don’t experience the same level of sexual attraction, or any at all, that they need fixing. People have made me felt like that before, but they’re wrong and I’m a-okay just as I am! There’s absolutely nothing wrong with being on the ace spectrum and you’re not broken at all.

12977056_1302130823136167_6215283264861228650_o

What advice would you give to any asexual individuals out there who might be struggling with their orientation?

Just take it slow, please don’t stress yourself over things and your sexuality is valid. I know it’s hard to find where exactly you fit in as not all safe spaces feel entirely welcoming, but you’re still valid and it’s okay to be ace. If you know anyone else on the ace spectrum, have a chat with them as they’ll be more likely to understand what you’re going through. If not, there are plenty of people online that I’m sure would be more than happy to talk to you about what you’re feeling (or not, as it were) and give you some more detailed advice on the subject.

But overall I think you just need to think it through without stressing over it. There’s no need to force yourself into a label, but if you’re comfortable identifying on the ace spectrum, then you’re most likely on the ace spectrum.

Finally, where can people find out more about your work?

I have plenty of social media links!

Naturally my blog here is electrospectrum ( http://electrospectrum.tumblr.com/ )
YouTube – https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC07LOm9dv-lQDFHZF0KJCmQ
Facebook – https://www.facebook.com/electrospectrum
Support me of Patreon – https://www.patreon.com/electrospectrum
Twitter – https://twitter.com/electr0spectrum
Instagram – https://www.instagram.com/electrospectrum/

27643223156_10f11e1b91_k

Thank you, Electrospectrum, for participating in this interview and this project. It’s very much appreciated.

Leave a comment