Interview: Rochyne

Today we’re joined by Rochyne. Rochyne is a phenomenal visual artist whose art almost defies definition. It’s a fascinating combination of physical objects, performance, and stories. It’s almost abstract in its presentation. It’s clear Rochyne is a dedicated and imaginative individual with a unique vision. My thanks to her for taking the time to participate in this interview.

spb_0442 copy

WORK

Please, tell us about your art.

My art used to be on paper, and then it became objects, now it seems to live in the place between stories, performance and interactions.

A little bit of my website blurb:

My work is about sharing knowledge; expanding expectations; uncovering what has been there all along; providing a moment where nothing else is important; testing boundaries and learning what can be done with what happens to be there.

It involves imagination, participation, movement, journeys, interaction, perspective, a contrast of soft and hard. Usually made on my own, I give my pieces to the world and the people, and let them discover what both the object and themselves can achieve. I want to open eyes; initiate freedom; spark a new way of thinking.

What inspires you?

People, places, sounds, words, stories, feelings. Anything really.

Recently the outdoors, climbing, birds, the sky, falling, failing have all been in the forefront of my mind.

What got you interested in your field?  Have you always wanted to be an artist?

I have always had an interest in art, I just find it hard to fully commit. I stumbled upon the sort of in-between field I find myself in. having a performative aspect in my art, I found the MA course I am just finishing (Performance Design) and from that, what I consider my art, or art in general, to be has broadened massively.

Do you have any kind of special or unique signature, symbol, or feature you include in your work that you’d be willing to reveal?

I think rather than a unique signature, my work mostly always includes some type of conversation or invitation.

I also like cubes.

What advice would you give young aspiring artists?

Don’t talk yourself down. Your art is worth it, and your time is not being wasted.

Work hard, be honest and find people who inspire you.

Don’t be afraid to get a ‘real job’ on the side, as long as it doesn’t sap all of your energy.

Talk, reach out, value others art.

19247842_10210507403581177_7800485706382590778_n

ASEXUALITY

Where on the spectrum do you identify?

This is a difficult question as I am not really sure. I think I identify as asexual some days and maybe less so on others. But mostly I quietly think of myself as asexual.

It’s a process I am still working through, so I sometimes find it awkward to speak about, and this, in my mind, means I may not have fully realised whereabouts my identity sits. As a general rule, I don’t enjoy assigning fixed labels; I believe most things exist in a fluid notion. So I guess to sum up; asexual-ish.

Have you encountered any kind of ace prejudice or ignorance in your field?  If so, how do you handle it?

Ignorance for sure, I think I just try to handle it by opening a dialogue inviting the ideas of identities all existing on a spectrum, if they can’t get their head around that I think I try to accept that they might not be open to those ideas. I haven’t experienced any openly aggressive/abusive responses, and I hope to never have to deal with these.

What’s the most common misconception about asexuality that you’ve encountered?

That they don’t exist. This is frustrating, and I think just a sign of the times and that we don’t talk enough. More dialogue around so many topics would help people hiding away and feeling that they are alone.

I find it frustrating when people associate asexuality and aromatic incorrectly, its an assumption that people shouldn’t have the freedom to express.

What advice would you give to any asexual individuals out there who might be struggling with their orientation?

As hard as it may be, accepting and talking can be helpful.

Also just to tell them that they are not broken.

Finally, where can people find out more about your work?

Ohh amazing.

People can find me here: https://www.instagram.com/rochyne/
or here https://rochynedm.wixsite.com/portfolio
or here: https://rochyne.wordpress.com/
Tumblr: https://rochyne.tumblr.com/

Thank you, Rochyne, for participating in this interview and this project. It’s very much appreciated.

Leave a comment