Interview: Ami

Today we’re joined by Ami, who also goes by Hyperionnebulae online. Ami is another first for Asexual Artists: she’s a product designer for a glass-blowing company. An industrial designer by trade, Ami also has a variety of artistic interests. She also paints, draws, sews, and takes pictures. She hasn’t met a medium she doesn’t like and is an incredibly enthusiastic artist. It shows in her work, which is absolutely beautiful. My thanks to her for taking the time to participate in this interview.

590x382_Orleans

WORK

Please, tell us about your art.

I’m an industrial designer as a professional and an artist as a hobby. I currently work at handblown glass company in Vermont, USA where I draw and brainstorm designs for their glass and pottery. In my spare time, I like to paint, sew, take pictures, draw, etc. I like to try out new mediums whenever possible.

What inspires you?

Everything!

At work, I’m inspired a lot by nature. I’ve drawn a lot of sculptural pieces. Shells, branches, and antlers have been referenced recently in my work, though the pieces in question haven’t been released yet. I also do a lot of market research and occasionally will create things similar to what is trending.

In my art, I like thinking about animals in general. I love painting close-ups of them. I play various tabletop rpgs and will occasionally draw/make vector images of characters and/or write short stories featuring them. I like photographing naturing a lot too and since I live in Vermont it’s pretty easy to access.

P1130982_Grey

What got you interested in your field?  Have you always wanted to be an artist?

Haha. Growing up I always thought I’d be a veterinarian or marine biologist. Something sciencey. And then I took this explorer scout program and abruptly realized that I really didn’t want that. I went to a summer program at what became my college and thought I’d go to an information session on industrial design. I feel in love thinking “this is what I want to do!” Everything fell into place after that.

Do you have any kind of special or unique signature, symbol, or feature you include in your work that you’d be willing to reveal?

I don’t.

tumblr_nqeqnwH3Sv1qe8rwlo3_1280

What advice would you give young aspiring artists?

Don’t give up. There is absolutely a place for you in the world. There is absolutely something you are phenomenal at that sets you apart. Keep working on your craft and never let others’ success let you down. Be inspired by everything around you. Know that someday you will inspire someone else.

tumblr_nld2e9HLME1qe8rwlo6_1280

ASEXUALITY

Where on the spectrum do you identify?

Panromantic grey-sexual

Have you encountered any kind of ace prejudice or ignorance in your field?  If so, how do you handle it?

Not due to my sexuality. Some do to being a woman in a male dominated field. I handle that by calling out the sexism and then being better at what I do than the offending party.

tumblr_nqeqvmN4g21qe8rwlo1_1280

What’s the most common misconception about asexuality that you’ve encountered?

People say that “hetero-on-the-outside” ace/pan/bisexuals don’t belong in the LGBT community. This is the most ignorant thing I’ve ever heard and extremely damaging. Just because my SO at the moment fits me into the heteronormative society doesn’t make me any less of what I am.

What advice would you give to any asexual individuals out there who might be struggling with their orientation?

Find a community that accepts you and helps you accept yourself. This may be a community online and/or a group of friends in real life who understand. There are certainly others out there; you are not alone; you are not broken.

tumblr_nw0xv9s92I1qe8rwlo3_1280

Finally, where can people find out more about your work?

My professional work is mixed into the simonpearce.com website. Check out the Orleans line.

Other work can be found on my Tumblr blog. http://hyperionnebulae.tumblr.com/tagged/my-art and on Redbubble, Society6, and TeePublic search Hyperionnebulae.

tumblr_inline_nsveaiCfNs1qdzf19_400

Thank you, Ami, for participating in this interview and this project. It’s very much appreciated.

Leave a Reply

